Rules Question

KyCatFan1

Heisman
May 6, 2002
30,808
31,521
113
I am no expert when it comes to all the X's and O's of football so let me know if I am wrong about this. I was watching part of the Louisville game earlier and on one play, they had a wide receiver in motion and when he got to the other side of the field he immediately turned upfield and ran as the ball was hiked all in one continuous motion. Isn't the receiver required to be set once they turn upfield, but they can keep moving as long as it is side to side? If I am right it was a missed call that seemed really easy to see since I saw it. It didn't affect the game at all but I was just curious.
 

Chadrock

All-Conference
Jul 12, 2004
2,810
1,837
103
Watch Hartlines throw to Cobb at end of SC game in 2010...marginal where it could be called or not.
 

UKUGA

Heisman
Jan 26, 2007
18,505
26,810
0
So, I was reading this thread and saw Johnson in motion at the snap - false start.

Probably not the same situation, but seemed similar.
 

jauk11

Heisman
Dec 6, 2006
60,631
18,638
0
I am no expert when it comes to all the X's and O's of football so let me know if I am wrong about this. I was watching part of the Louisville game earlier and on one play, they had a wide receiver in motion and when he got to the other side of the field he immediately turned upfield and ran as the ball was hiked all in one continuous motion. Isn't the receiver required to be set once they turn upfield, but they can keep moving as long as it is side to side? If I am right it was a missed call that seemed really easy to see since I saw it. It didn't affect the game at all but I was just curious.

The way you describe it the call was missed and would normally be called, lots of penaltiestfhat are called are irrelevant.
 

vhcat70

Heisman
Feb 5, 2003
57,418
38,482
0
I am no expert when it comes to all the X's and O's of football so let me know if I am wrong about this. I was watching part of the Louisville game earlier and on one play, they had a wide receiver in motion and when he got to the other side of the field he immediately turned upfield and ran as the ball was hiked all in one continuous motion. Isn't the receiver required to be set once they turn upfield, but they can keep moving as long as it is side to side? If I am right it was a missed call that seemed really easy to see since I saw it. It didn't affect the game at all but I was just curious.
As long as he didn't turn up field before the snap - in the officials' judgments - he's fine.
 

KyCatFan1

Heisman
May 6, 2002
30,808
31,521
113
As long as he didn't turn up field before the snap - in the officials' judgments - he's fine.

In my opinion he did turn up field and never stopped moving. It was perfectly timed to where he never stopped moving and the ball was hiked after he turned and kept going. It was on a stream so I didn't get to go back and make a video capture of it or I would have showed you all.
 

kypecos

Sophomore
Sep 6, 2006
2,700
174
0
OP raises a legitimate question. There has been a lot of this happening in the college game this year. Motion back/receiver seems to turn up field right before the snap. It's probably just well timed but it's been more noticeable this season. I actually checked a few weeks back to make sure that there wasn't a rule change that I missed.
 

ukats22

Senior
Dec 24, 2007
1,785
706
0
Illegal motion as you describe it. However. Sometimes it appears that the player is turning upfield before the snap (always find it funny when people refer to the snap as hiked) because lineman react slower. Replay the play and see how close the player is moving forward at the time the ball actually moves.

Dave