Pac-12 announces 2021-2022 men's basketball honors, awards

Jonathan Wagner03/08/22
Article written by:On3 imageJonathan Wagner


On3 image
Ethan Miller/Getty Images

The regular season is now complete, meaning that postseason basketball is here. The Pac-12 Tournament is set to begin on Wednesday. Ahead of the tournament, the Pac-12 has released its 2021-2022 annual awards, honors, and all-conference teams.

Arizona cruised to the regular season Pac-12 title, and the Wildcats hold the conference’s top seed entering this week’s tournament. UCLA finished with the second seed, while USC has the third and Colorado has the fourth. All four of the top seeds earned a bye into the quarterfinals.

The first round of the Pac-12 Tournament gets underway on Wednesday, with seeds 5-12 in action beginning at 3 p.m. ET.

Individual Pac-12 awards

Player of the Year: Bennedict Mathurin, Arizona

Defensive Player of the Year: Christian Koloko, Arizona

Most Improved Player: Christian Koloko, Arizona

Freshman of the Year: Harrison Ingram, Stanford

Sixth Man of the Year: Pelle Larsson, Arizona

Coach of the Year: Tommy Lloyd, Arizona

Arizona nearly swept the individual Pac-12 awards, with head coach Tommy Lloyd winning Coach of the Year and four of the five individual player honors going to the Wildcats. Stanford’s Harrison Ingram stopped the sweep after an impressive freshman campaign.

All-Pac-12 teams

First Team All-Pac-12

Terrell Brown Jr., Washington
Tyger Campbell, UCLA
Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA
Johnny Juzang, UCLA
Christian Koloko, Arizona
Bennedict Mathurin, Arizona
Isaiah Mobley, USC
Drew Peterson, USC
Azuolas Tubelis, Arizona
Jabari Walker, Colorado

Second Team All-Pac-12

Evan Battey, Colorado
Branden Carlson, Utah
Michael Flowers, Washington State
Jalen Graham, Arizona State
Will Richardson, Oregon

Honorable Mentions (receiving at least three votes)

Boogie Ellis, USC
Harrison Ingram, Stanford
Spencer Jones, Stanford
Andre Kelly, Cal
Jordan Shepherd, Cal
Dalen Terry, Arizona

All Freshman Team

Mouhamed Gueye, Washington State
Harrison Ingram, Stanford
K.J. Simpson, Colorado
Lazar Stefanovic, Utah
Glenn Taylor Jr., Oregon State
Honorable mentions: Sam Alajiki, Cal; Peyton Watson, UCLA

All-Defensive Team

Jaylen Clark, UCLA
Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA
Myles Johnson, UCLA
Christian Koloko, Arizona
Dalen Terry, Arizona
Honorable mentions: Efe Abogidi, Washington State; Evan Battey, Colorado; Marreon Jackson, Arizona State; Spencer Jones, Stanford; Franck Kepnang, Oregon; Isaiah Mobley, USC