Pro Football Writers Association unveils 2021 All-Rookie Team

Breaking news. In-depth analysis. Limited Ads.

7-Day Free TrialSubscribe Now

Pro Football Writers Association unveils 2021 All-Rookie Team

Article written by:James Fletcher IIIJames Fletcher III


Jim McIsaac/Getty Images

As the NFL Playoffs move forward, the Pro Football Writers Association begins announcing its regular season honors for 2021. The first list included the best of this year’s rookie class, which saw some unprecedented production from its top players.

The PFWA 2021 awards – including Rookie of the Year and the All-Rookie team were released on Tuesday. The list is headlined by a pair of first round picks who won offensive and defensive awards after opting out of the 2020 college football season.

14 of the PFWA All-Rookie team members were selected in the first round, while seven selections came from the second round. Pittsburgh Steelers punter Pressley Harvin III is the lowest selected players to make the list, going No. 254 overall in the seventh round.

Alabama led all schools with five former players on the All-Rookie team, followed by Florida, Northwestern, Oregon and Penn State with two each. Other schools represented include North Carolina, LSU, Tennessee, USC, Oklahoma on offense. Michigan, Miami, Missouri, Notre Dame, and TCU are represented on defense and Georgia Tech, Iowa State, UCLA and Iowa joined on special teams.

2021 Rookie of the Year awards

Rookie of the Year – Micah Parsons, Dallas Cowboys

Offensive Rookie of the Year – Ja’Marr Chase, Cincinnati Bengals

Defensive Rookie of the Year – Micah Parsons, Dallas Cowboys

2021 PFWA All-Rookie Team


QB – Mac Jones, New England Patriots (Alabama)

RB – Najee Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers (Alabama)

RB – Javonte Williams, Denver Broncos (North Carolina)

WR – Ja’Marr Chase, Cincinnati Bengals (LSU)

WR – Jaylen Waddle, Miami Dolphins (Alabama)

TE – Kyle Pitts, Atlanta Falcons (Florida)

T – Rashawn Slater, Los Angeles Chargers (Northwestern)

T – Penei Sewell, Detroit Lions (Oregon)

G – Trey Smith, Kansas City Chiefs (Tennessee)

G – Alijah Vera-Tucker, New York Jets (USC)

C – Creed Humphrey, Kansas City Chiefs (Oklahoma)


DL – Christian Barmore, New England Patriots (Alabama)

DL – Odafe Oweh, Baltimore Ravens (Penn State)

DL – Kwity Paye, Indianapolis Colts (Michigan)

DL – Jaelan Phillips, Miami Dolphins (Miami)

LB – Nick Bolton, Kansas City Chiefs (Missouri)

LB – Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, Cleveland Browns (Notre Dame)

LB – Micah Parsons, Dallas Cowboys (Penn State)

CB – Greg Newsome II, Cleveland Browns (Northwestern)

CB – Patrick Surtain II, Denver Broncos (Alabama)

S – Jevon Holland, Miami Dolphins (Oregon)

S – Tre’Von Moehrig, Las Vegas Raiders (TCU)

Special Teams

K – Evan McPherson, Cincinnati Bengals (Florida)

P – Pressley Harvin III, Pittsburgh Steelers (Georgia Tech)

KR – Kene Nwangwu, Minnesota Vikings (Iowa State)

PR – Demetric Felton, Cleveland Browns (UCLA)

ST – Nick Niemann, Los Angeles Chargers (Iowa)