Special Offer

$10 until the start of football season!

Take advantage of this limited time offer!

Florida's Lon Kruger named to National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame

Zach Abolverdi06/29/22
Article written by:On3 imageZach Abolverdi
Former Florida hoops coach Lon Kruger. (Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)

Former Florida men’s basketball coach Lon Kruger was named Wednesday as one of nine members of the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022.

Kruger will be enshrined along with the rest of the class on November 20, 2022, in Kansas City as part of National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Weekend.

Kruger coached UF from 1990-96 and posted a 104-80 record, highlighted by the team’s 1994 run. He led the Gators to their first Final Four appearance in program history that season.

He twice earned SEC Coach of the Year honors at Florida (1992, ’94) and oversaw two All-Americans in Stacey Poole (1993 AP honorable mention) and Dan Cross (1994, ’95 AP honorable mention). Cross, Poole, Craig Brown, Dwayne Davis, Andrew DeClercq and Dametri Hill each earned All-SEC honors under Kruger’s guidance.

Kruger totaled 674 wins over the course of his head coaching career with stops at Kansas State, Illinois, UNLV, Oklahoma and UTRGV. He holds the distinction of leading five different programs to the NCAA Tournament and added a second Final Four to his resume in 2016 at Oklahoma.

Joining Kruger in the 2022 class are former coaches John Beilein, Jim Calhoun, Jerry Krause and Roy Williams, along with former players Richard Hamilton (Connecticut), Larry Miller (North Carolina), Frank Selvy (Furman), and the late Jimmy Walker (Providence).

Details on tickets for the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022 Induction Celebration will be announced soon.