Site Special.

1 Week Only.

Take advantage of this limited time offer!

Riopelle Named Semifinalist for Buster Posey National Catcher of the Year

Nick de la Torre05/20/22
Article written by:On3 imageNick de la Torre
Untitled design (37)
Photo courtesy of UF Communications

Florida Gators catcher BT Riopelle was named one of 16 semifinalists for the 2022 Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Award. The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced the entire list on Thursday afternoon.
The Buster Posey Catcher of the Year is awarded annually to the top all-around backstop in college baseball, based on the player’s combination of defensive and offensive contributions.
In his first year as Florida’s starting catcher after transferring from Coastal Carolina, Riopelle has been a mainstay in the heart of the Gator lineup. Playing in 50 games including 48 starts, the Marietta, Ga. native is the proud owner of a robust .310/.374/.598 batting line with 14 home runs, one triple, six doubles, 50 RBI, 28 runs, and five steals. Riopelle leads all SEC catchers in slugging, home runs, and RBI.
Riopelle has been just as solid on the defensive end, producing a .995 fielding percentage across 378 defensive chances. The fourth-year backstop has made only two errors all season long.
Ballots will be sent to the national voting committee at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced on June 7, 2022. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced on June 29, 2022.

If Riopelle were to win the award he would be the second Florida Gator to do so. Mike Zunino was the recipient of the award in 2012.

About the award

Previously known as the Johnny Bench Award, the Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Award honors the nation’s top division one collegiate catcher as voted on by head coaches and sports information directors.

Riopelle and the full list of semifinalists

Jack AlexanderAustin Peay
Michael CaricoDavidson
Connor CharpingWestern Michigan
Kaden HollowDixie State
Cade HunterVirginia Tech
Andrew KeckSoutheast Missouri State
JT Marr JRCollege of Charleston
Zach Morgan Fresno State
Kevin ParadaGeorgia Tech
Caleb Ricketts San Diego
BT RiopelleFlorida
Daniel SusacArizona
Logan TannerMississippi State
Brendan TinsmanWake Forest
Anthony Tulimero Houston
Michael TurnerArkansas