Kentucky commit Dane Key wins Paul Hornung Award
Special Offer
Kentucky Wildcats

Breaking news. In-depth analysis. Ad-free.

7-Day Free TrialSubscribe Now

Kentucky commit Dane Key wins Paul Hornung Award

Tyler Thompsonabout 2 months


Article written by:Tyler ThompsonTyler Thompson



For the second year in a row, a Frederick Douglass player and future Kentucky Wildcat is taking home one of the top honors in the state. Dane Key was named the winner of the 2021 Paul Hornung Award, given annually by the Louisville Quarterback Club to the best high school football player in Kentucky. Frederick Douglass shared the news on Twitter this morning:

Key committed to Kentucky on October 28, picking the Cats over Michigan, Oregon, South Carolina, and Western Kentucky. A four-star wide receiver, he is the No. 229-ranked player in America according to the On3 consensus, a complete and equally weighted industry-generated average that utilizes all four major recruiting media companies.

Key has 48 catches for 804 yards and seven touchdowns this year, along with a kickoff return for a touchdown. He’ll get one last chance to add to those numbers Saturday when Frederick Douglass takes on South Warren in the Class 5A state title game at Kroger Field. Until then, enjoy his highlights.

Past Wildcat Paul Hornung Award Winners

The Paul Hornung Award has a very blue history. Key’s former teammate Jager Burton, now in his first season on Kentucky’s Big Blue Wall, won it last year. Current Kentucky backup quarterback Beau Allen (Lexington Catholic) took it home in 2019. The Wildcats’ star wideout Wan’Dale Robinson (Western Hills) won it in 2018. Here’s the complete list of Wildcats to take home the Hornung Award since it was founded in 1993:

  • 2021 — Dane Key, Frederick Douglass
  • 2020 — Jager Burton, Frederick Douglass
  • 2019 — Beau Allen, Lexington Catholic
  • 2018 — Wan’Dale Robinson, Western Hills
  • 2016 — Walker Wood, Lafayette
  • 2015 — Kash Daniel, Paintsville
  • 2013 — Matt Elam, John Hardin
  • 2011 — Patrick Towles, Highlands
  • 2007 — Sam Robey, Trinity, Florida, and Sam Ulinski, Male, Kentucky.
  • 2005 — Micah Johnson, Ft. Campbell
  • 2004 — Curtis Pulley, Hopkinsville
  • 1998 — Derek Smith, Highlands
  • 1997 — Dennis Johnson, Harrodsburg
  • 1995 — Tim Couch, Leslie County

Loading comments...



KSR Show Thread, 1/27: Tune in now!

We're live from the KSBar and Grille Studio in Lexington for two hours of Kentucky Sports Radio this morning. Matt Jones, Ryan Lemond, and I are together in one place to discuss all of the important matters around Big Blue Nation and beyond,...