Illinois center (and former UK target) Kofi Cockburn accidentally clobbers ref in the head

Jack Pilgrimalmost 2 years


Aritcle written by:Jack PilgrimJack Pilgrim
Photo: 247Sports/Jeremy Werner
[caption id="attachment_275774" align="alignnone" width="770"] Photo: 247Sports/Jeremy Werner[/caption] At one point, Kentucky was recruiting - albeit loosely - four-star center Kofi Cockburn to join the program's 2019 recruiting class and suit up in blue and white this season. Now, he's at Illinois helping the Fighting Illini take down top-five programs and referees. On Wednesday evening, the 7-foot-0, 290-pound center out of Kingston, Jamaica led Illinois with 19 points, ten rebounds, and four blocks en route to a 71-62 upset victory over No. 5 Michigan. Late in the second half, though, Cockburn was fouled on a made basket at the rim to put the Illini up by 12 points. During the celebration, the former four-star signee swung his arm and inadvertently clocked official Lewis Garrison right on the head. Take a look: After the game, Cockburn told the media that he was just being passionate about making a big play in a statement win for the program and went to see the official after the game to apologize. Through ten games this season, the Illinois freshman is averaging a double-double - 15.4 PPG, 10.7 RPG - and has had six games with at least ten rebounds and four games with at least 13 rebounds. As a recruit, Kentucky flirted with Cockburn throughout the spring and summer of 2018, watching him at various events on the Nike EYBL circuit. When fall came around, though, interest and contact on UK's side of things came to a screeching halt and the four-star center ultimately cut the Wildcats from his list. With Orlando Antigua serving as his lead recruiter, he ended up committing to Illinois in January and signed with the Fighting Illini over offers from Kansas, Connecticut, Auburn, LSU, Syracuse, and Georgetown, among others. On that note, does a knockout go on the box score?

Loading comments...