KSR's All Halfway Team

KSR's All Halfway Team

Freddie Maggardabout 5 years


Aritcle written by:Freddie MaggardFreddie Maggard
[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="1070"] Butch Dill | Times Free Press[/caption]

We’re at the midpoint of the 2016 football season. The Cats are 3-3. With that said, this post highlights the KSR All Halfway Team or the best offensive and defensive players selected from UK’s first 6 opponents. “Best is a relative term used to distinguish individual player’s performance against Kentucky, not how-where the player is projected in the NFL Draft or other superlative lists. The Franklin Trophy is an honor that designates an offensive and defensive player that had the most impact vs. the Wildcats.

Let’s take a look:


WR-Antonio Calloway, Florida: 5 catches, 129 yards, 1 TD

WR-Calvin Ridley, Alabama: 11 catches, 174 yards, 2 TD’s

WR-Isiah Jones, Southern Miss: 3 catches, 93 yards, 1 TD

TE-Hayden Hurst, South Carolina: 7 catches, 87 yards

OL-Cam Robinson, Alabama

OL-Martez Ivey, Florida

OL-David Sharpe, Florida

OL-Cameron Tom, Southern Miss

OL-Jonah Williams, Alabama

RB-Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt: 18 carries, 100 yards

RB-Ito Smith, Southern Miss: 36 carries, 179 yards, 1 TD, 5 catches, 40 yards receiving

QB-Luke Del Rio, Florida: 19-32, 320 yards, 4 TD’s, 1 INT

The Franklin Trophy Winner: Tie; WR Calvin Ridley, Alabama and RB Ito Smith, Southern Miss

[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="2048"]John Raoux | AP Photo John Raoux | AP Photo[/caption]


LB-Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt: 10 tackles, 2 TFL

LB-Reuben Foster, Alabama: 6 tackles, 1 QB hurry

LB-Rodney Butler, New Mexico State: 12 tackles, .5 TFL, 1 forced fumble

LB-Rashaan Evans, Alabama: 5 tackles, 1 TFL, 1 forced fumble, 1 QB hurry

DL-Jonathon Allen, Alabama: 8 tackles, 1 QB sack, 1 TFL

DL-Dylan Bradley, Southern Miss: 7 tackles, 2 TFL, 1 QB sack, 1 forced fumble, 1 fumble recovery

DL-Darius English, South Carolina: 8 tackles (7 solo), 3 TFL, 3 QB sacks, 1 forced fumble

DB-Jalen Tabor, Florida: 3 tackles, 1 Pick 6

DB-Marcus Maye, Florida: 3 tackles, 1 INT

DB-Eddie Jackson, Alabama: 4 tackles, 1 TFL

DB-Ryan White, Vanderbilt: 9 tackles, 1 forced fumble, 2 pass breakups

The Franklin Trophy Winner: DE Darius English, South Carolina

*The Franklin Trophy is named after the legendary Hopkins County junior high TE Drew Franklin. Franklin later went on to become Kentucky Sports Radio’s managing editor and exotic chili chef.    

Loading comments...