PJ Washington named to Naismith Trophy Midseason Watch List

Mrs. Tyler Thompsonover 2 years


How good has PJ Washington been lately? The sophomore is one of 30 players on the midseason watch list for the Naismith Trophy, given annually to the national player of the year.

PJ leads Kentucky in scoring (14.4 points per game) and rebounding (8.1 rebounds per game), and has scored 20 or more points in six of the last seven games. During that stretch, he’s had three double-doubles and is shooting 52.0 percent from the floor and 50.0 percent from 3-point range.

Washington is one of only three players from the SEC on the list along with Tennessee’s Admiral Schofield and Grant Williams.He’s also one of 10 midseason finalists for the Karl Malone Award, which honors the nation’s best power forward.

Here’s the complete list of candidates:

Nickeil Alexander-Walker So. G Virginia Tech ACC
R.J. Barrett Fr. F Duke ACC
Phil Booth Sr. G Villanova BIG EAST
Ignas Brazdeikis Fr. F Michigan Big Ten
Jordan Caroline Sr. G/F Nevada Mountain West
Brandon Clarke Jr. F Gonzaga WCC
Chris Clemons Sr. G Campbell Big South
Jarrett Culver So. G Texas Tech Big 12
Jarron Cumberland Jr. G Cincinnati AAC
Mike Daum Sr. F South Dakota State Summit League
Carsen Edwards Jr. G Purdue Big Ten
Kyle Guy Jr. G Virginia ACC
Rui Hachimura Jr. F Gonzaga WCC
Ethan Happ Sr. F Wisconsin Big Ten
Markus Howard Jr. G Marquette BIG EAST
De’Andre Hunter So. G Virginia ACC
Cameron Johnson Sr. G North Carolina ACC
Dedric Lawson Jr. F Kansas Big 12
Caleb Martin Sr. F Nevada Mountain West
C.J. Massinburg Sr. G Buffalo MAC
Luke Maye Sr. F North Carolina ACC
Ja Morant G So. Murray State OVC
Eric Paschall Sr. F Villanova BIG EAST
Shamorie Ponds Jr. G St. John’s BIG EAST
Admiral Schofield Sr. G Tennessee SEC
Marial Shayok Sr. G Iowa State Big 12
P.J. Washington So. F Kentucky SEC
Grant Williams Jr. F Tennessee SEC
Zion Williamson Fr. F Duke ACC
Cassius Winston Jr. G Michigan State Big Ten

The list will be narrowed to ten semifinalists on March 4. The four finalists will be announced on March 19 and the trophy will be awarded during the Final Four.


Loading comments...