Breaking news. In-depth analysis. Limited Ads.

Subscribe Now

Texas RB Roschon Johnson named to Hornung Award Honor Roll

Justin Wells09/20/22
Article written by:On3 imageJustin Wells
Roschon Johnson (Will Gallagher/Inside Texas)

Three games into the 2022 season, Texas running back Roschon Johnson was named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll, the Louisville Sports Commission announced on Tuesday.

Johnson, a product of Port Neches (Texas) Port Neches Groves had 81 yards, on 11 carries, tallied three receptions for 23 yards and one touchdown, and accounted for seven first downs – six rushing, one receiving – during Saturday’s 41-20 win over UTSA, while also taking snaps when the Horns lined up in the wildcat formation. One play that stood out:

Johnson running wildcat read the EDGE defender, handed the ball off to Robinson, who followed blocks from Christian Jones and Ja’Tavion Sanders.

The early candidate for team MVP, the 6-foot-2, 222-pound tailback and Business Management major has been a jack-of-all trades for the No. 22 Texas football team in 2022. Johnson was named to the 2022 Doak Walker Award watch list and named fourth-team All Big 12 Preseason selection by Athlon Sports in 2021.

The two-time Academic All Big 12 First team selection (2020-2021) and seven-time member of the Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll has 2,102 total yards – 1.767 rushing, 335 receiving – in three seasons at Texas.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the regular season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote.

Fan voting for the 2022 Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse is now open. Fans can vote once every 24 hours here.