OT: 6% Realtor Commission going away. WARNING: Involves Maths!!!

TheBigUglies

Oct 26, 2021
https://www.cnn.com/2024/03/15/economy/nar-realtor-commissions-settlement/index.html

Been seeing the headlines and I applaud making this monopoly go away. 6% is my opinion is too much especially when you get to higher priced homes.

6% on 250k = $15,000
6% on 500k = $30,000
6% on 750k = $45,000
6% on 1 mil = $60,000

That being said, I was a realtor at a very young age working on 100% commission. Yes this gets split between sellers agent and buyers agent(3% each) and then depending on your arrangement with your broker, if your new you split 50/50 with broker office(PA Law says you can't be a real estate agent without hanging your license in a real estate brokers office who is supposed to supervise you). By the time the agent gets their cut in the first case its $3,750. That being said, there are too many hands in the pot and the seller has to pay for it all. Now, in my opinion its the same effort to list and sell a house, the sellers were always at the mercy of the agent because of the multiple listing service which is owned by the local board of realtors.