Alabama Football calls itself 'Pro Bowl U' with video highlighting 11 alums in NFL all-star event

Barkley-Truaxby:Barkley Truax02/04/24


11 former Alabama football players will participate in this year’s Pro Bowl Games in Orlando, and the Crimson Tide are now claiming the title of ‘Pro Bowl U’ ahead of Sunday’s event.

Sunday’s championship games will feature seven offensive players and four from the defensive front. Jalen Hurts and Tua Tagovailoa lead the Crimson Tide’s offensive presence, while Derrick Henry earned his fourth Pro Bowl selection. Alongside him is rookie tailback Jahmyr Gibbs, and Amari Cooper rounds out the skill players. Offensive linemen Ryan Kelly and Landon Dickerson were also named to this year’s all-star event.

Defensively, Patrick Surtain and Minkah Fitzpatrick represent Alabama in the secondary, while rookie Will Anderson and Quinnen Williams make up the front seven.

Overall, eight former Alabama stars will play for the AFC, while Hurts and Dickerson — teammates on the Eagles — and Gibbs will be a part of the NFC.

The list is made up of the following:

QB Tua Tagovailoa – Miami Dolphins
QB Jalen Hurts – Philadelphia Eagles
RB Derrick Henry – Tennessee Titans
RB Jahmyr Gibbs – Detroit Lions
WR Amari Cooper – Cleveland Browns
C Ryan Kelly – Indianapolis Colts
G Landon Dickerson – Philadelphia Eagles
CB Patrick Surtain II – Denver Broncos
S Minkah Fitzpatrick – Pittsburgh Steelers
LB Will Anderson Jr. – Houston Texans
DT Quinnen Williams – New York Jets

Both Hurts and Tagovailoa earned their respective teams trips to the playoffs after finishing the regular season with 11-6 records. Tagovailoa led the NFL in passing yards with 4,624 yards, while Hurts utilized his feet more and scored 15 touchdowns on the ground during the 2023-24 regular season with help of the seemingly unstoppable ‘tush push.’ Dickerson was a vital part of Hurts’ efforts as an offensive guard.

Gibbs fell just short of notching a 1,000-yard rookie season, finishing the year with 945 yards on the ground while Henry finished second in the league with 1,167 rushing yards on an NFL-high 280 carries.

Cooper put career-high numbers as well while notching his fourth 1,000-yard receiving season in five years. He finished the year with 1,250 yards and five receiving touchdowns.

Surtain was tied for ninth in the NFL in passes defended with 12, four more than any other player on the Broncos’ roster. Fitzpatrick was sidelined more than once this season with injury and only played 10 games, but that was enough for him to notch a productive 64 tackles on the season.

Up front, Williams continued to utilize his 6-foot-3, 303 pounds pound to disrupt the run game in New York. And Anderson, alongside his teammate and former Ohio State QB CJ Stroud, were both named offensive and defensive rookies of the year by Pro Football Writers of America and were both named to this year’s pro bowl event.

How to watch the 2024 Pro Bowl Games Championship

Time: 3 p.m. ET
Channel: ESPN, ABC, FuboTV (streaming)
Location: Camping World Stadium – Orlando, FL