Skip to main content

Urban Meyer, 2 former Gators players make College Football Hall of Fame ballot

On3 imageby:Keith Niebuhr06/03/24


Urban Meyer, who as coach of the Florida Gators led the program to two national titles, has been named to the 2025 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. Meanwhile, two former Florida players also are on the ballot — defensive linemen Alex Brown and Brad Culpepper.

Per the National Football Foundation, 77 players and nine coaches from the FBS level made the ballot.

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot considering more than 5.7 million people have played college football and only 1,093 players have been inducted,” NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell said in a release. “The Hall’s requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. Being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game, and we look forward to announcing the 2025 College Football Hall of Fame Class early next year.”

The NFF notes that “The ballot was emailed (Monday) to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s Honors Court, which will deliberate and select the class.” The voting deadline is July 1.

Urban Meyer had an amazing six-season run in Gainesville

Meyer coached the Gators from 2005-10 and won national titles in 2006 and 2008. His Florida teams went 65–15 overall, and 36–12 in the SEC. He later won another national championship at Ohio State.

NFF bio on Brown: “Two-time First Team All-American, earning consensus honors in 2001, and finalist for the Lombardi and Nagurski awards as a senior…2001 SEC Defensive Player of the Year (AP) and three-time First Team All-SEC performer…Holds Gator records for career (33) and single-season (13 in 1999) sacks.”

NFF bio on Culpepper: “1991 consensus First Team All-American and recipient of the NFF Campbell Trophy® as the nation’s top scholar-athlete…Two-time All-SEC selection who led Gators to first-ever SEC title in 1991…Ranks sixth all-time at Florida with 47.5 career TFL, a school record among defensive linemen.”

Also of note, Culpper is one of 11 NFF National Scholar-Athletes on the 2025 ballot. Only 44 NFF National Scholar-Athletes have been honored as both a Hall of Famer and an NFF National Scholar-Athlete. Former Gators Tim Tebow and Danny Wuerffel are two of them.

You can find the complete list of who made the ballot HERE.

You may also like