Skip to main content

Garrison Hearst, Richard Seymour make ballot for College Football Hall of Fame

Palmber-Thombsby:Palmer Thombs06/03/24


The 2024 ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame was released on Monday, and a pair of former Georgia stars are on it. Running back Garrison Hearst and defensive lineman Richard Seymour look to join the 21 Bulldogs in the Atlanta shrine to the sport we all love with an announcement for the Class of 2025 expected to come in January.

Hearst played at Georgia and help carry on the tradition of ‘RBU’ from 1990 to 1992, leading the nation in touchdowns during his junior season. That year he rushed for over 1,000 yards in the regular season and capped things off with a fantastic performance in the Citrus Bowl win over Ohio State.

Hearst was an All-American selection, SEC Player of the Year and the winner of the Doak Walker Award for the best running back in the country. Averaging 6.8 yards per carry, Hearst broke Bo Jackson’s SEC record single season average of 6.4. He also broke several of Herschel Walker’s SEC records, setting new marks for single season points scored (126), total touchdowns (21) and rushing touchdowns (19).

His 1,910 all-purpose yards was second most in SEC history for a single season, his average of 140,6 rushing yards per game was second nationally and his total yardage of 173.6 all-purpose yards per game was fourth in the country. Hearst finished third in Heisman Trophy voting that season.

A native of Gadsden, S.C., Seymour played in 41 games during his Georgia career, starting 25. In 1999, he led the Bulldogs with 74 tackles, one of only two defensive linemen in program history to lead the team in tackles.

Seymour was a two-time All-SEC First-Team Selection, a First-Team All-American in 2000 and a permanent team captain for Georgia’s 1999 team as just a junior. He ended his career in Athens with 233 total tackles, 26 tackles for loss and 10 sacks.

Along with his spot in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, where he was inducted in 2022, Seymour is a member of the Georgia-Florida Game Hall of Fame, State of South Carolina Hall of Fame and was named a “Legend of SEC Football.”

Georgia Bulldogs in the Hall of Fame

Coach Glenn “Pop” Warner, 1951
Bob McWhorter, 1954
Frank Sinkwich, 1954
Charley Trippi, 1959
Vernon “Catfish” Smith 1979
Bill Hartman, 1984
Fran Tarkenton, 1987
Coach Vince Dooley, 1994
Coach Wally Butts, 1997
Bill Stanfill, 1998
Herschel Walker, 1999
Terry Hoage, 2000
Kevin Butler, 2001
John Rauch, 2003
Coach Jim Donnan, 2009
Jake Scott, 2011
Scott Woerner, 2016
Matt Stinchcomb, 2018
David Pollack, 2020
Champ Bailey, 2022
Coach Mark Richt, 2023

You may also like