Skip to main content

Jalen Carter up for award given to most impactful defensive player

Palmber-Thombsby:Palmer Thombs11/15/22


It’s been a day full of recognition for the Georgia Bulldogs, and junior defensive lineman Jalen Carter joined in on the party Tuesday afternoon. A projected top-10 pick in the 2023 NFL Draft, Carter was named a semifinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, presented annually to the college football defensive IMPACT player of the year. IMPACT is an acronym for integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community and tenacity.

Carter has only played in eight games for Georgia this season, starting four of those. He dealt with an ankle injury early in the season before an MCL sprain sidelined him in the month of October. However, when he’s been on the field, he’s certainly lived up to the ideals of an impact player. Carter has 17 total tackles as well as 17 quarterback hurries. He was named SEC Defensive Lineman of the Week, as well as the Bednarik Award Player of the Week, for his performance against Tennessee when he had four tackles including a quarterback sack, another tackle for loss and two forced fumble in the win over the top-ranked team. He followed that up with a career-high seven tackles in Georgia’s win on the road at Mississippi State.

“That dude is special,” Georgia head coach Kirby Smart said about Carter after the game. “That one play he made, he beat the guard so fast, he was in the backfield so quick. Their splits are huge, I’d hate to be a guard on an island blocking him like that. They split three yards out both ways, and it’s like you’ve got to block 88 man, that’s some hard stuff. He’s made us chance to go like go where we need to go on defense. He’s healthy, he’s playing, he’s taking the burden off those other guys.”

Other semifinalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy include Alabama linebacker Will Anderson, Kansas State defensive end Felix Anudike-Uzomah, Alabama safety Jordan Battle, Ohio State linebacker Tommy Eichenberg, LSU defensive end BJ Ojulari, Penn State cornerback Joey Porter Jr., Clemson linebacker Trenton Simpson and USC defensive lineman Tuli Tuipulotu. Finalists for the award, to be announced as a later date, will be invited to attend the annual award show on December 11th in Newport Beach, Calif. The university of the winner will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund while schools of the other finalists will receive $5,000 each.

Awards Season Rundown

  • Stetson Bennett – Davey O’Brien Award semifinalist
  • Stetson Bennett – Burlsworth Trophy semifinalist
  • Stetson Bennett – Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award finalist
  • Brock Bowers – Maxwell Award semifinalist
  • Brock Bowers – John Mackey Award semifinalist
  • Brock Bowers – Rotary Lombardi Award semifinalist
  • Jalen Carter – Rotary Lombardi Award semifinalist
  • Jamon Dumas-Johnson – Butkus Award semifinalist
  • Kearis Jackson – Wuerffel Torphy semifinalist
  • Jack Podlesny – Lou Groza Award semifinalist
  • Christopher Smith – Paycom Jim Thorpe Award semifinalist
  • Christopher Smith – Bednarik Award semifinalist
  • Darnell Washington – John Mackey Award semifinalist
  • Georgia Offensive Line – Joe Moore Award semifinalist
  • Todd Monken – Broyles Award nominee

You may also like