Skip to main content

Georgia representatives announced for SEC Media Days

Palmber-Thombsby:Palmer Thombs07/08/24


We’re a week out from the unofficial start to the College Football season – SEC Media Days – and the list of attendees was just released. Joining head coach Kirby Smart as representatives for Georgia will be quarterback Carson Beck, defensive lineman Mykel Williams and safety Malaki Starks.

The Bulldogs are set to go on Tuesday, July 16th at the event in Dallas. Other teams that’ll appear the same day include Missouri, Tennessee and SEC newcomer Oklahoma. Coaches and players from LSU, Ole Miss, South Carolina and Vanderbilt kick things off on Monday while Wednesday Alabama, Florida, Mississippi State and Texas. Arkansas, Auburn, Kentucky and Texas A&M round things out on Thursday.

An exact schedule with order of appearance for each day has yet to be released, but all four days of the ongoings will be broadcasted on SEC Network.

Beck, Williams and Starks are all three first time representatives for Georgia, and all three are more than deserving. Beck and Starks earned Preseason All-American nods by the Walter Camp Football Foundation earlier this month while Williams was a surprising omission. The trio could be the first three Bulldogs off the board in the NFL Draft next spring and their contributions will go a long way for Georgia this fall, both on the field as players and off of it as team leades.

Kirby Smart’s squad enters 2024 as the favorite according to oddsmakers in Las Vegas to a win a third title in four seasons, but it won’t be easy with the schedule UGA must face. The Bulldogs have road tests at Alabama, Texas and Ole Miss over the course of the season in a new-look SEC. That’s not all though. Also on the slate is a season-opener against ACC favorite Clemson as well as a home date with Tennessee. All five of those teams are expected to be in the top 15-20 of preseason rankings.

Georgia is coming off of a 13-1 season in 2023, defeating Florida State 63-3 in the Orange Bowl after the Bulldogs and Seminoles both narrowly missed out on the College Football Playoffs. UGA was seeking a third straight National Championship – something that remains unmatched since the 1930s – after the only back-to-back titles of the four-team Playoff era.

UPDATE (3:45 p.m. ET): Georgia has been announced as the first team to go on Tuesday morning. Kirby Smart will take the big stage, televised on SEC Network, just after 10:00 a.m ET. He’ll be on the SEC Network set at 11:15 a.m. with both Smart and players having various radio and recorded television obligations throughout the morning.

You may also like