Bulldog fans seem up in arms over this call, for some reason. It was not a fair catch, nor was it ruled to be one. To set the record straight:<div>
</div><div>2-8-1-c: "A valid or invalid fair catch signal deprives the receiving team of the opportunity to advance the ball. The ball is declared dead at the spot of the catch or recovery or at the spot of the signal if the catch precedes the signal."</div><div>
</div><div>2-8-2: "A valid signal is a signal given by a player of Team B who has obviously signaled his intention by extending one hand only clearly above his head and waving that hand from side to side of his body more than once."</div><div>
</div><div>2-8-3-a: "An invalid signal is any waving signal by a player of Team B [t]hat does not meet the requirements of Article 2 (above)"</div><div>
</div><div>Approved Rule 6-5-3-V: "Team A’s scrimmage kick is rolling beyond the neutral zone when B17 alerts his teammates to stay away from the ball by a “get away” signal. RULING: Invalid signal. The ball is dead by rule when either team recovers."</div><div>
</div><div>This rule has been in the NCAA rule book for years now. The correct call was made.</div><div>
</div>
</div><div>2-8-1-c: "A valid or invalid fair catch signal deprives the receiving team of the opportunity to advance the ball. The ball is declared dead at the spot of the catch or recovery or at the spot of the signal if the catch precedes the signal."</div><div>
</div><div>2-8-2: "A valid signal is a signal given by a player of Team B who has obviously signaled his intention by extending one hand only clearly above his head and waving that hand from side to side of his body more than once."</div><div>
</div><div>2-8-3-a: "An invalid signal is any waving signal by a player of Team B [t]hat does not meet the requirements of Article 2 (above)"</div><div>
</div><div>Approved Rule 6-5-3-V: "Team A’s scrimmage kick is rolling beyond the neutral zone when B17 alerts his teammates to stay away from the ball by a “get away” signal. RULING: Invalid signal. The ball is dead by rule when either team recovers."</div><div>
</div><div>This rule has been in the NCAA rule book for years now. The correct call was made.</div><div>
</div>