Cognac recommendations

Nitwit

Oct 12, 2021
I’m interested in trying some cognacs for an after dinner drink but need some suggestions as to what would be a good entry level bottle to start off with. I want something decent but don’t want to break the bank. I’m normally a bourbon or Irish whisky drinker. Can someone suggest something I should buy perhaps in the $50 or less per bottle range? Thanks

MLU

Jan 17, 2022
Ferrand Double Cask Reserve.

Aged in French oak barrels for 7-10 years, then blended w/ 20+ year old cognac and then aged in banyuls (French dessert wine) barrels. It will run you between $60-$80.

I feel like you really can't go wrong with any Ferrand or Chateau Labaude (technically an Armagnac) if you're a bourbon drinker.

Nitwit

Oct 12, 2021
Thanks- both a bit pricier than I was seeking. Any sub $50 worth buying?

Last edited:

MLU

Jan 17, 2022
I'm just getting started in the aged brandy, but I think Hine H Cognac VSOP, Pierre Ferrand 1840, Chateau Labaude 6 year are probably good places to start for a bourbon drinker. If you find that you enjoy those, feel free to circle back around to that Ferrand Double Cask. :)

FYI, I'm lumping cognac and armangac into the list here because theyre so closely related.

Nitwit

Oct 12, 2021
I'm just getting started in the aged brandy, but I think Hine H Cognac VSOP, Pierre Ferrand 1840, Chateau Labaude 6 year are probably good places to start for a bourbon drinker. If you find that you enjoy those, feel free to circle back around to that Ferrand Double Cask. :)

FYI, I'm lumping cognac and armangac into the list here because theyre so closely related.
Will do - thanks

Reactions: MLU

Nitwit

Oct 12, 2021
1669223620254.jpeg
Got this bottle as a Birthday present today and look forward to giving it a taste tonight and maybe tomorrow evening to cap off the Thanksgiving dinner. It certainly comes in a handsome bottle.

MLU

Jan 17, 2022