You can throw around names and insults, but here is the actual rule (if anyone else cares to look, it's rule 9-1-9-a from this year's rule book)...read the note at the bottom and maybe you'll understand why you don't understand how to interpret it.Wrong, the NCAA Roughing Rule specifically states that it ONLY APPLIES to hits coming after "the ball has OBVIOUSLY been thrown". Here is the actual written NCAA Rule:
College: 9-1-9
SECTION 1. Personal Fouls
Roughing the Passer
ARTICLE 9.
a. No defensive player shall unnecessarily rough a passer, when it is obvious the ball has been thrown. The following actions are illegal, but not limited to:
You're reading comprehension of the ACTUAL Rule is faulty just as it was in 2005 regarding the need of Avante's entire "first foot landing" being in-bounds for it to be a good catch. Only you could claim the following clear statement needs "interpretation" LMAO: "No defensive player shall unnecessarily rough a passer, when it is obvious the ball has been thrown."
BTW, there was no "forcible contact to the head" after the initial clearly legal hit which was not "high" or illegal in any way, but you just keep right on making bullsheet circumstances up.
Roughing the Passer
ARTICLE 9 a No defensive player shall unnecessarily rough a passer, when it is obvious the ball has been thrown The following actions are illegal, but not limited to:
1 Targeting fouls as noted in Rules 9-1-3 and 9-1-4
2 Forcible contact to the head or neck area that does not meet the requirements of Rule 9-1-4 (also reference Rule 9-1-2)
3 Forcible contact that is avoidable after it is obvious the ball has left the passer’s hand (Exception: A defensive player who is blocked by a Team A player with a force so that they have no opportunity to avoid contact with the passer However, this does not relieve the defensive player of responsibility for personal fouls as described elsewhere in this section)
4 Forcibly driving the passer to the ground and landing on the passer with action that punishes the player
5 Any action that is a personal foul as described elsewhere in this section
Note: For 1, 2, and 4 above, this includes contact to an offensive player in a passing posture.
Last edited: