Officiating Michigan -OSU. ....... Wow

GBRhuskers_rivals203711

All-Conference
Jul 15, 2016
1,609
1,753
0
Officials are known the week of the game, if not sooner. Michigan should have raised hell with the conference prior to the game instead of after the game. It's a bad look, Harbaugh and whatever Michigan site is linked above.

Clete Blakeman & Kelly Saalfeld, both former Husker players, have officiated Nebraska games. Kelly had a couple controversial calls too, for and against us, never a peep from anyone.

Urban trolling Harbaugh in the post-game was a thing of beauty:
 

yunginsNU2

All-Conference
May 24, 2006
4,737
1,030
0
What I just don't understand about the whole 4th down ply is that there never was even a measurement for the first.. why not
 
May 2, 2005
94,699
70,101
0
Officials are known the week of the game, if not sooner. Michigan should have raised hell with the conference prior to the game instead of after the game. It's a bad look, Harbaugh and whatever Michigan site is linked above.

Clete Blakeman & Kelly Saalfeld, both former Husker players, have officiated Nebraska games. Kelly had a couple controversial calls too, for and against us, never a peep from anyone.

Urban trolling Harbaugh in the post-game was a thing of beauty:
I remember that Clete wasn't able to ref a Husker game until anybody he ever played with or for was gone from the program. I believe it was either Turner Gill that was the last one left. Maybe it was Ron Brown? Not 100% sure. I think he reffed the NU/Baylor game and decided after that to decline doing any more Husker games because he didn't want there to be any issues or questions with him doing a Husker game. He then went on to the NFL after that and became "the hot ref".
 

HuskerBruce81

All-American
Nov 7, 2012
39,720
5,702
113
Original line of scrimmage started at the 25. All that needs to happen is any part of the ball touches the 15 for a 1st down.

The first down line is not similar to breaking the plane of the end zone. Ball should have been spotted where it was when he landed.
 

jlb321_rivals110621

All-American
Aug 8, 2014
7,956
5,489
0
Wrong. Forward progress made the fifteen yard line. First down.


he was short by this much





frankly I don't care .... good luck in the playoffs

on an aside .. the above would be a good photo for a caption contest
 

JohnRossEwing

All-American
Jul 4, 2013
11,899
5,284
0
It is where the ball is when his progress is stopped. Had he been carrying the ball in his butthole he would have been a half-yard short...but it wasn't in his butthole.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SOHusker11

GBRhuskers_rivals203711

All-Conference
Jul 15, 2016
1,609
1,753
0
The first down line is not similar to breaking the plane of the end zone. Ball should have been spotted where it was when he landed.

You couldn't be more wrong. In OT, the ball is placed at the 25 yard line. All the ball has to do is touch any part of the 15 yard line for a 1st down.
 

HuskerBruce81

All-American
Nov 7, 2012
39,720
5,702
113
Wrong. Forward progress made the fifteen yard line. First down.

That wasn't forward progress. Rules state it a runner goes airborne the ball is placed where it's at when runner goes down. He was short. Game is over. People can say I'm wrong but according to the rules since this wasn't the plane of the end zone breaking it isn't enough.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Anon1654450226

GBRhuskers_rivals203711

All-Conference
Jul 15, 2016
1,609
1,753
0
People can say I'm wrong but according to the rules since this wasn't the plane of the end zone breaking it isn't enough.

Yes it is.

In OT, which is no different than a touch back for this discussion, the ball is placed [not spotted by any official] at the 25 yard line. The yard markers are placed just like the ball, not spotted by the eye like a regular play.

For a 1st down, all any part of the ball has to do is touch the 15 yard line. Which, according to where the official spotted, the ball touched the 15.
 

RealTucoSalamanca

All-American
Aug 18, 2016
15,926
9,785
113
Secondly you two are discussing two different issues.

The reason there was not a measurement is, as was said above, because the ball was placed at the 25. If the referee marked the ball and it was touching the 15, no reason to bring out the chains.

Now where they marked the ball is a completely different argument.
 

HuskerBruce81

All-American
Nov 7, 2012
39,720
5,702
113
Yes it is.

In OT, which is no different than a touch back for this discussion, the ball is placed [not spotted by any official] at the 25 yard line. The yard markers are placed just like the ball, not spotted by the eye like a regular play.

For a 1st down, all any part of the ball has to do is touch the 15 yard line. Which, according to where the official spotted, the ball touched the 15.

So you are claiming without forward progress one can advance for a first down and come back and be downed short of the first down marker and still have a first down. Which is completely wrong.

Go read the rules on airborne runners. He wasn't wrapped up. He was hit, went in the air into his own player and landed when the ball was well short.
 

Mr.Scary13

All-Conference
Dec 7, 2014
4,636
1,877
0
All this whining from Michigan, and none of them want to talk about the fact that the vaunted defense of theirs still could have stopped them from scoring a td, but let Barrett run through them like butter on the next play.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SOHusker11

GBRhuskers_rivals203711

All-Conference
Jul 15, 2016
1,609
1,753
0
So you are claiming without forward progress one can advance for a first down and come back and be downed short of the first down marker and still have a first down. Which is completely wrong.

Go read the rules on airborne runners. He wasn't wrapped up. He was hit, went in the air into his own player and landed when the ball was well short.

That isn't what I'm saying, nor what I posted. I didn't say anything about forward progress, airborne, wrapped, not wrapped or anything else like that.

I'm telling you; once the ball is spotted and any part of it is touching the 15 yard line, there is no need for a measurement. It's a first down.
 

Tuco Ramirez

Sophomore
Jul 29, 2010
1,080
167
0
So you are claiming without forward progress one can advance for a first down and come back and be downed short of the first down marker and still have a first down. Which is completely wrong.

Go read the rules on airborne runners. He wasn't wrapped up. He was hit, went in the air into his own player and landed when the ball was well short.


You would mind quoting the rules on here? I'm not a rules expert, but what your are saying is surprising. If someone catches the ball at the 20 yards line, is hit, and is knocked back a couple of yards, I would still expect it to be marked at the 20. Maybe the difference is "airborne".
 

HuskerBruce81

All-American
Nov 7, 2012
39,720
5,702
113
All this whining from Michigan, and none of them want to talk about the fact that the vaunted defense of theirs still could have stopped them from scoring a td, but let Barrett run through them like butter on the next play.

You mean Samuel?
 

HuskerBruce81

All-American
Nov 7, 2012
39,720
5,702
113
That isn't what I'm saying, nor what I posted. I didn't say anything about forward progress, airborne, wrapped, not wrapped or anything else like that.

I'm telling you; once the ball is spotted and any part of it is touching the 15 yard line, there is no need for a measurement. It's a first down.

Well you're bringing up something I never even brought up. I never mentioned why it wouldn't be measured. I mentioned the spot of the ball and where it should have been spotted.
 

HuskerBruce81

All-American
Nov 7, 2012
39,720
5,702
113
You would mind quoting the rules on here? I'm not a rules expert, but what your are saying is surprising. If someone catches the ball at the 20 yards line, is hit, and is knocked back a couple of yards, I would still expect it to be marked at the 20. Maybe the difference is "airborne".

Airborne receivers do indeed get forward progress like you stated. Problem is he was an airborne runner. Two different things.
 

St_Henry_Buckeye

All-Conference
Dec 21, 2014
5,442
1,098
0
I think it's cute that Bruce thinks he knows more about the rules than the officials doing the game and the B1G front office folks. Laughing
 

GBRhuskers_rivals203711

All-Conference
Jul 15, 2016
1,609
1,753
0
Well you're bringing up something I never even brought up. I never mentioned why it wouldn't be measured. I mentioned the spot of the ball and where it should have been spotted.

There must be 2 "Bruce1981" posters in this thread.

The first down line is not similar to breaking the plane of the end zone.

People can say I'm wrong but according to the rules since this wasn't the plane of the end zone breaking it isn't enough.
 

HuskerBruce81

All-American
Nov 7, 2012
39,720
5,702
113
I think it's cute that Bruce thinks he knows more about the rules than the officials doing the game and the B1G front office folks. Laughing

Go read the rules. Airborne receivers get forward progress at the initial hit. Player running and goes airborne the ball is spotted where it's at when he LANDS. Michigan got screwed. Should have been 4th and 10 or more anyway because there was holding on the play that made it 4th and 1. Officials protected your team most of the game.
 

HuskerBruce81

All-American
Nov 7, 2012
39,720
5,702
113
There must be 2 "Bruce1981" posters in this thread.

Where did I say it should have been measured there. You are arguing all the ball needs to do is break the plane at the 15 yard line as if it is the end zone. It isn't. They aren't similar. Nice try though.
 

RealTucoSalamanca

All-American
Aug 18, 2016
15,926
9,785
113
Where did I say it should have been measured there. You are arguing all the ball needs to do is break the plane at the 15 yard line as if it is the end zone. It isn't. They aren't similar. Nice try though.


He argued that there is no need to measure since the ball was marked on the 15. Then you convoluted the discussion with disputing where the ball was spotted.

As I said before two totally different discussions going on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: huskerfan1414

HuskerBruce81

All-American
Nov 7, 2012
39,720
5,702
113
He argued that there is no need to measure since the ball was marked on the 15. Then you convoluted the discussion with disputing where the ball was spotted.

As I said before two totally different discussions going on.

Which is what I'm trying to point out. There was no need to measure because they spotted it there but it was a terrible spot. Terrible.
 

GBRhuskers_rivals203711

All-Conference
Jul 15, 2016
1,609
1,753
0
Where did I say it should have been measured there. You are arguing all the ball needs to do is break the plane at the 15 yard line as if it is the end zone. It isn't. They aren't similar. Nice try though.

That isn't what I said. Read carefully.

For a 1st down, all any part of the ball has to do is touch the 15 yard line. Which, according to where the official spotted, the ball touched the 15

I'm telling you; once the ball is spotted and any part of it is touching the 15 yard line, there is no need for a measurement. It's a first down.
 

RealTucoSalamanca

All-American
Aug 18, 2016
15,926
9,785
113
Which is what I'm trying to point out. There was no need to measure because they spotted it there but it was a terrible spot. Terrible.


Fine but when you read post 4 then your response in post 6. It reads as though you are disputing his answer. Thus a whole bunch of wasted time arguing about where the spot should have been.
 
  • Like
Reactions: huskerfan1414

HuskerBruce81

All-American
Nov 7, 2012
39,720
5,702
113
Oh yes. I see that now. I blame waking up at 2:30 for the second time for work this week now that I'm on winter shifts.

That isn't what I said. Read carefully.

Fine but when you read post 4 then your response in post 6. It reads as though you are disputing his answer. Thus a whole bunch of wasted time arguing about where the spot should have been.
 

St_Henry_Buckeye

All-Conference
Dec 21, 2014
5,442
1,098
0
The good thing is they got the spot right. Maybe ttun should have played a hint of defense on the following play.
 
Last edited:

Diplomat_Dean

All-American
Jan 25, 2005
14,676
9,442
113
That wasn't forward progress. Rules state it a runner goes airborne the ball is placed where it's at when runner goes down. He was short. Game is over. People can say I'm wrong but according to the rules since this wasn't the plane of the end zone breaking it isn't enough.

So you are claiming without forward progress one can advance for a first down and come back and be downed short of the first down marker and still have a first down. Which is completely wrong.

Go read the rules on airborne runners. He wasn't wrapped up. He was hit, went in the air into his own player and landed when the ball was well short.


There is no such rule against forward progress for an airborne runner. Forward progress is the furthermost point of the runner, regardless of being airborne or not.

You probably are mixing up the new slide rule which states ball is dead where runner begins his slide.

Furthermore, if the runner would go back on his own, then yes, forward progress wouldn't be granted.


The approved ruling below is same rule as applied in the OSU/MU game.

From the approved rulings in the 2016/2017 NCAA rulebook:
IV. A4, with the ball breaking the plane of the 50-yard line while in his possession, dives over the 50-yard line, which is the line to gain for a first down. He is knocked back to Team A’s 49-yard line, where any part of his body except his hand or foot touches the ground. RULING: First down at forward progress spot (Rule 4-1-3-b).

V. A6 has the ball in his possession and is not controlled by an opponent, as he dives over the 50-yard line, which is the line to gain for a first down, and is forced back across the 50-yard line. A6 continues to run and is tackled at Team A’s 49-yard line, where any part of his body except his hand or foot strikes the ground. RULING: No first down. The point of forward progress is Team A’s 49-yard line
 

SPbObRT

Junior
Mar 7, 2008
2,940
391
0
the big ten officials have been pretty bad all year when it comes to spots and forward progress, this game was no different, remember the PURDUE-Nebraska game and how many times they did not have the right placement for the ball and changed spots well after the play was over. this is a huge issue especially with all the camera angles and equipment availiable to the crews these days. I have yet to see a big 10 crew do a good job all year and I have watched a lot of college football. time to bring in some new stripes in my opinion.
 

ellobo_rivals188748

All-Conference
Jul 30, 2002
6,537
2,148
0
the big ten officials have been pretty bad all year when it comes to spots and forward progress, this game was no different, remember the PURDUE-Nebraska game and how many times they did not have the right placement for the ball and changed spots well after the play was over. this is a huge issue especially with all the camera angles and equipment availiable to the crews these days. I have yet to see a big 10 crew do a good job all year and I have watched a lot of college football. time to bring in some new stripes in my opinion.
Or put a chip in the ball (like they do in tennis) and leave no doubt
 
  • Like
Reactions: CFBfan70