Robert Smith on ESPN just made a good..

huskerssalts

All-Conference
Oct 6, 2014
7,213
1,221
0
Snd im assuming your not, we won plain and simple and the replay both with slow mo replay confirmed the call was RIGHT. So let it be, WE WON.
 

Cdn Blackshirt

Freshman
Sep 30, 2009
3,634
55
0
cubsker,

We may have initially been upset but the rule is if a player goes out of bounds because of "contact" (the rule does not specify pushing), the player may re-establish himself inbounds and make a legal reception.

The big issue with most of those saying it's a bad call (including Griese and most commentators last night) is they mistakenly believe the rule stipulates "pushing" which it does not.

Bottom line is once the rule was clarified I think most of us would have gotten over it quite quickly. The rule is the rule.


Matthew.
 

GeorgeFlippin

Heisman
May 29, 2001
38,219
34,992
113
Was watching it earlier this morning, said that there was contact and that the receiver made the attempt to get back in bounds. Also reiterated that it was a call that cannot be reviewed. Pretty much said don't blame Nebraska for it, the refs had to make the decision on the field and he thought the call was correct.
 

Cidsports

All-American
Iowa Swarm member
Nov 8, 2001
44,098
8,570
113
My wife and I enjoyed the discussion with Ohio State-Minnesota fans watching their game at a Cedar Rapids watering hole. It was the right call and Robert Smith was money over Mark May in the discussion.

You can't judge intent ... contact was involved and by rule ... Huskers win!

No surprise!
 

BetterRed1

Freshman
Jul 6, 2006
12,605
88
31
Contact is all that it takes and contact was involved..
That's just it. I've been calling it a bad call myself. But in reality, if the rule simply says contact, then this call was correct. Contact is contact, regardless of whether BR was pushed out or not. So I'm going to stop calling it a bad call. It appears as though it wasn't.
 

barney44

All-American
Oct 2, 2005
185,597
5,325
0
That's just it. I've been calling it a bad call myself. But in reality, if the rule simply says contact, then this call was correct. Contact is contact, regardless of whether BR was pushed out or not. So I'm going to stop calling it a bad call. It appears as though it wasn't.

It was close, that's for sure but the complaints are only in the way people interpret the rule, that or they don't know the rule. Most are going to complain and say it was a screw job based on the assumption that a player has to be pushed out of bounds. If you're driven out of bounds by any sort of contact you're eligible by getting back in after contact.
 
Aug 6, 2009
15,511
8,571
0
Yes there was some contact but I assume that the intent of the rule is that the contact involved, even if it is not "pushing" is the primary cause of the receiver going out of bounds. And therein lies the judgment part of this. But from the replays I have seen I think the contact was very minor and incidental and did not cause Reilly to go out of bounds. Just my opinion. I am glad the call went our way though! We were due. As Riley put it: "We will take it"
 
Nov 14, 2005
2,234
433
0
Plus as was stated on ESPN College Football Sunday, the rule also states that when there is some doubt on the play, the receiver will be given the benefit of the doubt both on contact (the issue here) and whether he reestablished himself in bounds (no issue on that last night).
 

newAD

All-Conference
Oct 14, 2007
15,429
4,852
0
None of the camera views give you a good view of what the defender's left arm was doing. The guy with the best view was the official who threw his hat, and later signaled TD.
 

cubsker_rivals142943

All-Conference
May 29, 2003
18,603
3,174
0
cubsker,

We may have initially been upset but the rule is if a player goes out of bounds because of "contact" (the rule does not specify pushing), the player may re-establish himself inbounds and make a legal reception.

The big issue with most of those saying it's a bad call (including Griese and most commentators last night) is they mistakenly believe the rule stipulates "pushing" which it does not.

Bottom line is once the rule was clarified I think most of us would have gotten over it quite quickly. The rule is the rule.


Matthew.

there was a rule for the 1 second thing against texas as well and that did not stop anyone's rage around here b/c we were all aware that the way the play was called was not how the play would normally have been called. Same sort of thing here. There is virtually always a level of contact from the DB to the WR on any play down the sideline and I do not believe that plays are generally called the way the play was last night.

as usual, this was just one of a series of "interesting" calls. some went our way. some did not. i won't lose any sleep over it.
 

@Dean Callahan

Heisman
Feb 4, 2003
94,827
18,373
113
None of the camera views give you a good view of what the defender's left arm was doing. The guy with the best view was the official who threw his hat, and later signaled TD.
I think someone posted a video shot from a cell phone from the end zone on RSS. You can see the defender making obvious contact with the receiver and causing him to go out of bounds. It is impossible to tell if it was just a light push or if it was a hard shove. Either way the rules back the officials call as the defender was assisting the receiver out of bounds. Sucks that there is some controversy but how many games in the last couple weeks have ended with stuff like this. Look at the Miami game a couple weeks ago. Arkansas-Ole Miss was a crazier ending this week. This is a huge win in my book and hopefully the game that brings the team together and gets them to turn the corner. Hell of a game against a highly ranked undefeated opponent. GBR
 
A

anon_umk0ifu6vj6zi

Guest
there was a rule for the 1 second thing against texas as well and that did not stop anyone's rage around here b/c we were all aware that the way the play was called was not how the play would normally have been called. Same sort of thing here. There is virtually always a level of contact from the DB to the WR on any play down the sideline and I do not believe that plays are generally called the way the play was last night.

as usual, this was just one of a series of "interesting" calls. some went our way. some did not. i won't lose any sleep over it.
Actually, the Big12 rule was that the booth cannot intiate a rule at that time. It was stated on the Big12 website. I read it immediately after the game. Then an hour later I went back to link it, and it had a link to the NCAA rule. Either way it was the correct call. Just showed the incompetence of the Big12 at the time.
 
  • Like
Reactions: arf_man_rivals73094

JHball

Sophomore
Jun 17, 2003
3,828
117
0
I think someone posted a video shot from a cell phone from the end zone on RSS. You can see the defender making obvious contact with the receiver and causing him to go out of bounds. It is impossible to tell if it was just a light push or if it was a hard shove. Either way the rules back the officials call as the defender was assisting the receiver out of bounds. Sucks that there is some controversy but how many games in the last couple weeks have ended with stuff like this. Look at the Miami game a couple weeks ago. Arkansas-Ole Miss was a crazier ending this week. This is a huge win in my book and hopefully the game that brings the team together and gets them to turn the corner. Hell of a game against a highly ranked undefeated opponent. GBR
Is it this one? Looks like there's plenty of contact to me

 

newAD

All-Conference
Oct 14, 2007
15,429
4,852
0
Is it this one? Looks like there's plenty of contact to me



Looks like BR is still in bounds when he had turned his head to look for the ball. He starts to make an effort to get around him, but there is contact being made between the two with the defender in position to move BR out of bounds. BR continues to make an effort to get around him and yes takes steps out of bounds.

The defender IMO knew exactly what he was doing. Drive him to the sideline. Had BR not looked back while still in bounds, yes you could argue BR ran out of bounds on his own. But again, he appeared to be trying to adjust to the ball while still bounds. And again, the Field Judge had a great view of it all.

This "controversy" is another example of people believe the first thing they hear. I wish ESPN had a better camera angle to have immediately shown the announcers before they just automatically say it was a bad call.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cdn Blackshirt

6KSHuskers

Junior
Jan 20, 2003
507
281
63
Yes there was some contact but I assume that the intent of the rule is that the contact involved, even if it is not "pushing" is the primary cause of the receiver going out of bounds. And therein lies the judgment part of this. But from the replays I have seen I think the contact was very minor and incidental and did not cause Reilly to go out of bounds. Just my opinion. I am glad the call went our way though! We were due. As Riley put it: "We will take it"
The defender definitely made contact with BR. He was trying to squeeze BR to the sideline and had his body weight leveraged up against BR. That's why the defender fell when BR made the move to come back toward the ball.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HuskerLegion

Tuco Ramirez

Sophomore
Jul 29, 2010
1,080
167
0
The big issue with most of those saying it's a bad call (including Griese and most commentators last night) is they mistakenly believe the rule stipulates "pushing" which it does not.

The announcers also seemed to think the db looking back for the ball was somehow relevant, as if it was a pass interference issue. If it had the same criteria a PI, they would have just called PI. It's fine (not a rule violation) for the db to squeeze the wr out of bounds, it just doesn't keep the wr from being an eligible receiver.
 

newAD

All-Conference
Oct 14, 2007
15,429
4,852
0
The announcers also seemed to think the db looking back for the ball was somehow relevant, as if it was a pass interference issue. If it had the same criteria a PI, they would have just called PI. It's fine (not a rule violation) for the db to squeeze the wr out of bounds, it just doesn't keep the wr from being an eligible receiver.

I bet Griese would just be floored that basketball players box out (for anyone else who doesn't realize, this means push with their backside, arms, elbows, etc, on a rebound attempt), and actually do this at times while watching that large orange ball fly through the air, and sometimes only seeing their opponent with peripheral vision. It's just freaking amazing how they can do that!
 

barney44

All-American
Oct 2, 2005
185,597
5,325
0
Is it this one? Looks like there's plenty of contact to me



Looks like some pretty good contact at around the 5 second mark. Looks like he was bumped as he was being boxed towards the sidelines.