argument on why the Reilly td was good and the call correct, and smacked down his co host in the process. Good job, Mark May beat down again.
argument on why the Reilly td was good and the call correct, and smacked down his co host in the process. Good job, Mark May beat down again.
That's just it. I've been calling it a bad call myself. But in reality, if the rule simply says contact, then this call was correct. Contact is contact, regardless of whether BR was pushed out or not. So I'm going to stop calling it a bad call. It appears as though it wasn't.Contact is all that it takes and contact was involved..
That's just it. I've been calling it a bad call myself. But in reality, if the rule simply says contact, then this call was correct. Contact is contact, regardless of whether BR was pushed out or not. So I'm going to stop calling it a bad call. It appears as though it wasn't.
cubsker,
We may have initially been upset but the rule is if a player goes out of bounds because of "contact" (the rule does not specify pushing), the player may re-establish himself inbounds and make a legal reception.
The big issue with most of those saying it's a bad call (including Griese and most commentators last night) is they mistakenly believe the rule stipulates "pushing" which it does not.
Bottom line is once the rule was clarified I think most of us would have gotten over it quite quickly. The rule is the rule.
Matthew.
I think someone posted a video shot from a cell phone from the end zone on RSS. You can see the defender making obvious contact with the receiver and causing him to go out of bounds. It is impossible to tell if it was just a light push or if it was a hard shove. Either way the rules back the officials call as the defender was assisting the receiver out of bounds. Sucks that there is some controversy but how many games in the last couple weeks have ended with stuff like this. Look at the Miami game a couple weeks ago. Arkansas-Ole Miss was a crazier ending this week. This is a huge win in my book and hopefully the game that brings the team together and gets them to turn the corner. Hell of a game against a highly ranked undefeated opponent. GBRNone of the camera views give you a good view of what the defender's left arm was doing. The guy with the best view was the official who threw his hat, and later signaled TD.
Actually, the Big12 rule was that the booth cannot intiate a rule at that time. It was stated on the Big12 website. I read it immediately after the game. Then an hour later I went back to link it, and it had a link to the NCAA rule. Either way it was the correct call. Just showed the incompetence of the Big12 at the time.there was a rule for the 1 second thing against texas as well and that did not stop anyone's rage around here b/c we were all aware that the way the play was called was not how the play would normally have been called. Same sort of thing here. There is virtually always a level of contact from the DB to the WR on any play down the sideline and I do not believe that plays are generally called the way the play was last night.
as usual, this was just one of a series of "interesting" calls. some went our way. some did not. i won't lose any sleep over it.
Is it this one? Looks like there's plenty of contact to meI think someone posted a video shot from a cell phone from the end zone on RSS. You can see the defender making obvious contact with the receiver and causing him to go out of bounds. It is impossible to tell if it was just a light push or if it was a hard shove. Either way the rules back the officials call as the defender was assisting the receiver out of bounds. Sucks that there is some controversy but how many games in the last couple weeks have ended with stuff like this. Look at the Miami game a couple weeks ago. Arkansas-Ole Miss was a crazier ending this week. This is a huge win in my book and hopefully the game that brings the team together and gets them to turn the corner. Hell of a game against a highly ranked undefeated opponent. GBR
Is it this one? Looks like there's plenty of contact to me
The defender definitely made contact with BR. He was trying to squeeze BR to the sideline and had his body weight leveraged up against BR. That's why the defender fell when BR made the move to come back toward the ball.Yes there was some contact but I assume that the intent of the rule is that the contact involved, even if it is not "pushing" is the primary cause of the receiver going out of bounds. And therein lies the judgment part of this. But from the replays I have seen I think the contact was very minor and incidental and did not cause Reilly to go out of bounds. Just my opinion. I am glad the call went our way though! We were due. As Riley put it: "We will take it"
The big issue with most of those saying it's a bad call (including Griese and most commentators last night) is they mistakenly believe the rule stipulates "pushing" which it does not.
The announcers also seemed to think the db looking back for the ball was somehow relevant, as if it was a pass interference issue. If it had the same criteria a PI, they would have just called PI. It's fine (not a rule violation) for the db to squeeze the wr out of bounds, it just doesn't keep the wr from being an eligible receiver.
Is it this one? Looks like there's plenty of contact to me