Rule Question on Cam's Int in end zone

Sumralldawg

Redshirt
Aug 23, 2012
107
0
0
What did the announcers say as to why it was a touchback. I always thought pylon was in play. If you dive into endzone and touch pylon it's a TD so why is it considered out of bounds leaving endzone.
 

kired

All-Conference
Aug 22, 2008
6,835
2,050
113
It would be out of bounds behind the goal line - thus a touchback.

On a diving play, a ball that touches it is considered out of bounds but over the goal line, so TD.

I think...
 
Last edited:

Sumralldawg

Redshirt
Aug 23, 2012
107
0
0
Thanks for trying to clarify the rule. Still doesn't make sense as he didn't step out just kicked pylon. Doesn't matter in scheme of game I just was wondering what actual ruling was.
 

Sapsdawg

Redshirt
Nov 15, 2005
354
1
18
True but if you're foot crosses over OOB but lands in play not OOB. Shouldn't be penalized for artificial obstruction.
 

kired

All-Conference
Aug 22, 2008
6,835
2,050
113
Since the pylon is considered out of bounds, the runner is out of bounds for just touching it from what I understand.

Consider if cam had stepped on the pylon and smashed it between his foot & ground. His foot could have never touched the ground - just the pylon. In that case it would be unfair to say he didn't step out because he stepped on a pylon rather than physically touching the ground. I assume the rule is this way so a runner doesn't get any unfair help staying inbounds by pushing off on the pylon (as theoretically impossible as that may sound)
 

FlabLoser

Redshirt
Aug 20, 2006
10,709
0
0
Correct, the pylons is both out of bounds and beyond the endzone.

We played Florida one year where they were about to score. They fumble and the ball bounces at the 1, hits the pylon, and goes out of bounds. Because the pylon is both out of bounds and beyond the enddzone boundary, it was ruled a touchback.

Same thing with Cam's INT. He catches the ball in the endzone, then touches the pylon. That's a touchback. Damn better than having the ball 1st and 10 on the 1 inch line.