ESPN broadcast baffled by SEC officials' decision to uphold fumble call, erase Auburn TD

Auburn has started off hot against Georgia, racing out to a 10-0 lead, but a controversial play late in the first half drew immediate scrutiny. Quarterback Jackson Arnold appeared to have a touchdown, but he lost the ball going across the goal line. Georgia recovered it.
Officials ruled it as a fumble on the field, allowing it to go to replay review. Once reviewed, officials stuck with the original call.
Auburn coach Hugh Freeze was apoplectic on the sidelines. Meanwhile, the broadcast booth seemed to disagree with the call.
“Well from the synced up views, it looks like he’s got the ball tucked right in his chest, right at his numbers on the front of the jersey,” rules expert Matt Austin said. “If you look at the view from the back, his number 11 from his back is definitely across the goal line. I think by merging the two together that’s a touchdown.”
Immediately after hearing the call, the ABC broadcast booth voiced its disagreement. Emphatically.
“I have no idea what they were looking at,” Sean McDonough said. “All three of us thought that shot down the line where you can see the ball, especially when you sync it up from the other side with the top of his body, he still has the ball. The hand bats it away, then from the other replay that we saw from down the line, the ball’s across the line when the hand makes contact with the ball to punch it out.”
After that, analyst Greg McElroy weighed in. He summed up the thoughts of the booth, given the stunning call.
“It’s so close. Might not have just had enough evidence to overturn beyond all doubt,” he said. “That’s the protocol, beyond all doubt. Clearly the replay review, they didn’t see it the way we saw it.”
The turnover led to Georgia quickly driving the field. It was aided by a targeting call and a couple other penalties on Auburn. Kicker Peyton Woodring put the Bulldogs on the board by hitting a 29-yard field goal with 13 seconds remaining in the half.
Fans at Jordan-Hare Stadium were absolutely livid and were loudly booing the refs throughout the drive. This is not the first time Auburn has been the subject of a controversial call (or missed call).
Top 10
- 1New
AP Poll Prediction
Big change up on deck
- 2Hot
Kirby Smart
Tricks officials in win vs. Auburn
- 3
Drew Allar injury
Severity revealed on PSU QB
- 4
Hoosiers Football
Cements contender status after win
- 5Trending
Penn State's future
Franklin faces job questions
Get the Daily On3 Newsletter in your inbox every morning
By clicking "Subscribe to Newsletter", I agree to On3's Privacy Notice, Terms, and use of my personal information described therein.
SEC apologizes for mistake during Auburn-Oklahoma
Oklahoma dialed up a trick play for its first touchdown of the game against Auburn on Sept. 20. Sooners wide receiver Isaiah Sategna acted as if he were subbing out of the game just before stopping at the sideline. Before any defender noticed him, John Mateer took the snap and threw to a wide-open Sategna for the score.
Moments later, the ESPN broadcast explained how that was not a legal play. Instead, the touchdown should have been taken off the board, while Oklahoma got a 15-yard penalty. Neither was called by the SEC officiating crew, sending Hugh Freeze irate at the time and postgame.
In the days after, some clarity of the moment came via the official SEC Officiating account on Twitter. A statement was released admitting the officiating crew got the call wrong.
“In Saturday’s Auburn at Oklahoma football game with 10:50 remaining in the 2nd quarter, a pass was thrown to Oklahoma #5 resulting in a touchdown,” the tweet said. “Oklahoma #5 participated in the previous play, which was a first down play from the 22-yard line. After the first down play was completed, Oklahoma #5 continued towards his team’s sideline but stopped just before reaching the Oklahoma sideline.
“NCAA football rule 9-2, Article 2 is labeled ‘unfair tactics’ with Paragraph (B) stating, ‘No simulated replacements or substitutions may be used to confuse opponents. No tactic associated with substitutes or the substitution process may be used to confuse opponents. This includes any hideout tactic with or without a substitution.’
“The officiating crew did not properly interpret the action as a hideout tactic. If properly officiated, the second play should have resulted in a team unsportsmanlike conduct penalty of 15 yards assessed from the previous spot.
“Appropriate accountability will be applied without additional comment.”
On3’s Griffin McVeigh also contributed to this report.