Report: Oklahoma tipped off SEC officials on Isaiah Sategna trick play during pregame meeting

After the SEC admitted an incorrect call on Oklahoma WR Isaiah Sategna’s touchdown Saturday, the Sooners reportedly brought the situation up pregame. Oklahoma Play-by-Play voice Toby Rowland had more.
“According to a source, in its regular pregame meeting with game officials, the OU staff brought up the planned play (Sategna TD) and sought confirmation it was legal,” Rowland wrote on Twitter/X. The report did not specify if refs approved the play prior to the game, despite it later being revealed as an incorrect call.
The Sooners dialed up a trick play for its first touchdown of the afternoon against Auburn. Sategna acted as if he were subbing out of the game just before stopping at the sideline. Before any defender noticed him, John Mateer took the snap and threw to a wide-open Sategna for the score.
Moments later, the ESPN broadcast explained how that was not a legal play. Instead, the touchdown should have been taken off the board, while Oklahoma got a 15-yard penalty. Neither was called by the SEC officiating crew, sending Hugh Freeze irate at the time and postgame.
The SEC later admitted it was the incorrect call and should not have been allowed. Sure enough, for what it’s worth, Oklahoma won 24-17, by one touchdown.
Top 10
- 1Breaking
SEC schedule reveal
Opponents for 4 years released
- 2Hot
John Mateer
To undergo surgery
- 3
Jah-Marien Latham
Bama LB hospitalized
- 4
SEC rankings updated
Massive shakeup ahead of Week 5
- 5Trending
Ok. State Hot Board
Top candidates to replace Gundy
Get the Daily On3 Newsletter in your inbox every morning
By clicking "Subscribe to Newsletter", I agree to On3's Privacy Notice, Terms, and use of my personal information described therein.
“In Saturday’s Auburn at Oklahoma football game with 10:50 remaining in the 2nd quarter, a pass was thrown to Oklahoma #5 resulting in a touchdown,” the tweet said. “Oklahoma #5 participated in the previous play, which was a first down play from the 22-yard line. After the first down play was completed, Oklahoma #5 continued towards his team’s sideline but stopped just before reaching the Oklahoma sideline.
“NCAA football rule 9-2, Article 2 is labeled ‘unfair tactics’ with Paragraph (B) stating, ‘No simulated replacements or substitutions may be used to confuse opponents. No tactic associated with substitutes or the substitution process may be used to confuse opponents. This includes any hideout tactic with or without a substitution.’
“The officiating crew did not properly interpret the action as a hideout tactic. If properly officiated, the second play should have resulted in a team unsportsmanlike conduct penalty of 15 yards assessed from the previous spot. Appropriate accountability will be applied without additional comment.”
Griffin McVeigh contributed to this report