Skip to main content

Kentucky Baseball named Regional Host for 2024 NCAA Tournament

IMG_8756by:Daniel Hager05/26/24


Kentucky Baseball was officially named one of 16 Regional hosts in the upcoming 2024 NCAA Tournament Sunday night.

The full list of 16 Regional hosts are below:

  • Georgia (Athens Regional)
  • Texas A&M (Bryan-College Station Regional)
  • North Carolina (Chapel Hill Regional)
  • Virginia (Charlottesville Regional)
  • Clemson (Clemson Regional)
  • Oregon State (Corvallis Regional)
  • Arkansas (Fayetteville Regional)
  • East Carolina (Greenville Regional)
  • Tennessee (Knoxville Regional)
  • Kentucky (Lexington Regional)
  • Oklahoma (Norman Regional)
  • NC State (Raleigh Regional)
  • UC-Santa Barbara (Santa Barbara Regional)
  • Oklahoma State (Stillwater Regional)
  • Florida State (Tallahassee Regional)
  • Arizona (Tucson Regional)

The Cats were just one of five SEC teams named Regional hosts. They’re joined by Georgia, Texas A&M, Arkansas, and Tennessee.

Kentucky clinched a share of its second ever SEC Regular Season Championship this season with a record of 40-14 (22-8). It was the No. 3 seed in the 2024 SEC Tournament, where it was eliminated in the Third Round by South Carolina.

After officially clinching a tournament berth, Kentucky has made back-to-back NCAA Tournaments for the first time in program history. The Cats will also be hosting back-to-back Regionals for the first time in program history, and will be hosting a Lexington Regional for the fourth time in program history (2006, 2017, 2023, 2024).

Kentucky will be making its ninth ever NCAA Tournament appearance. The Cats will be looking to punch their first ever ticket to the College World Series in 2024, as they’re the lone SEC team to never make an appearance in Omaha.

Overall seeds and the entire Field of 64 will be revealed Monday at noon EST.

Discuss This Article

Comments have moved.

Join the conversation and talk about this article and all things Kentucky Sports in the new KSR Message Board.