Texas, Oklahoma formally request invitations to join SEC

Oklahoma v Texas
<small>(Photo: Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)</small>

(Photo: Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

Texas and Oklahoma have taken the next step towards joining the Southeastern Conference. This morning, the two schools formally requested invitations to become members of the SEC beginning July 1, 2025, setting up a vote by the SEC’s 14 schools. Eleven schools must approve the addition for it to become official.

“Dear Commissioner Sankey,” the request reads. “The University of Texas at Austin and The University of Oklahoma request invitations for membership to the Southeastern Conference starting on July 1, 2025. We believe that there would be mutual benefit to the Universities on the one hand, and the SEC on the other hand, for the Universities to become members of the SEC. We look forward to the prospect of discussions regarding this matter.”

SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey confirmed the request on social media

“While the SEC has not proactively sought new members, we will pursue significant change when there is a clear consensus among our members that such actions will further enrich the experiences of our student-athletes and lead to greater academic and athletic achievement across our campuses,” Sankey said in the statement.

Yesterday, Texas and Oklahoma notified the Big 12 that they will not renew their grants of media rights, which expire in 2025, the first step in leaving the conference.

Sources tell ESPN the SEC presidents and chancellors will meet Thursday to discuss adding Texas and Oklahoma, which would expand the league to 16 members. The source was not sure whether or not that meeting would include a vote.

Loading comments...