Catcher's Balk

thekimmer

Well-known member
Aug 30, 2012
7,755
1,690
113
To me there needs to be another part of that rule stating that the batter should be in a position to hit the ball for that rule to be applicable. The batter had moved 20 feet away from the plate before the pitch got there.

On another note. If the catcher had just moved up a bit and caught the ball over the plate he would have been in a much better position to make the tag anyway.

Kudos to the ump for immediately knowing a rule that is probably never called by most umps in their careers.
 

BulldogBlitz

Well-known member
Dec 11, 2008
13,996
15,136
113
Does this mean the Phillies staff probably said something to the umps either in that game or the night before just to plant the seed?
 

seshomoru

Active member
Apr 24, 2006
5,521
139
63
To me there needs to be another part of that rule stating that the batter should be in a position to hit the ball for that rule to be applicable. The batter had moved 20 feet away from the plate before the pitch got there.
Counter point: The batter has to make an effort to get out of the way on a play at the plate. He doesn't need to bail to do this, just a step back in the box would be fine. But if he sees the catcher moving forward he'll just swing, drill the catcher, get the interference, be awarded 1st, and since the runner was stealing they'd get to advance (normally runners need to be forced to advance on a catcher's interference). So, by letting a batter bail out like that and calling it interference + a balk (charged to pitcher obviously), it keeps the same penalty without the offense having to attempt murder on a catcher.

Side note: The other way a catcher can get a balk called on the pitcher no longer exists. They couldn't leave the catcher's box before the ball left the pitcher's hand on an intentional walk. Now they just get put on. Another thing that often gets called a catcher's balk is when they stop a rolling ball with their mask. It's not actually a balk, but the penalty is the same.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CochiseCowbell

CochiseCowbell

Well-known member
Oct 29, 2012
12,972
8,715
113
@seshomoru Haven't seen you post in a while. This is a pleasant surprise.

The batter bailing out part also depends on which box the batter is in.

I caught some in my brief "playing career." I was born with knock knees so I preferred 2nd. By HS my speed disappeared so I rotated between the infield corners, RF, & behind the dish.

Had a guy steal 3rd on me. I popped up to throw but hesitated & I complained to the ump that the batter (RH) didn't move out of the way.

"He doesn't have to, son." Side note; hated anyone other than my father or grandfathers using that term.

"I guess the next one's going in his gotdam ear hole then!"

Batter didn't move because he was savvy, he was just unaware.

Ump didn't like my language, got two bad calls in a row.

Next pitch, don't recall the count, I rose up & half threw, half punched the batter in the ear hole with my hand & ball that left my hand before contact.

Runner was standing on 3rd. Everyone was confused, including myself. Coaches, players, & umps didn't know what to do. It happened before Ump could make a call on the pitch.

There was a meeting of coaches and umps. They decided on a "Do-over."

No recollection if we won or loss that game, I was 15. That was many moons ago. Apparently, no one knew the rules.
 

ETK99

Well-known member
Jul 30, 2019
7,143
9,712
112
Technically, a balk can be called on any player not in the field of play at the pitch
 
  • Like
Reactions: onewoof

seshomoru

Active member
Apr 24, 2006
5,521
139
63
@seshomoru Haven't seen you post in a while. This is a pleasant surprise.

The batter bailing out part also depends on which box the batter is in.

I caught some in my brief "playing career." I was born with knock knees so I preferred 2nd. By HS my speed disappeared so I rotated between the infield corners, RF, & behind the dish.

Had a guy steal 3rd on me. I popped up to throw but hesitated & I complained to the ump that the batter (RH) didn't move out of the way.

"He doesn't have to, son." Side note; hated anyone other than my father or grandfathers using that term.

"I guess the next one's going in his gotdam ear hole then!"

Batter didn't move because he was savvy, he was just unaware.

Ump didn't like my language, got two bad calls in a row.

Next pitch, don't recall the count, I rose up & half threw, half punched the batter in the ear hole with my hand & ball that left my hand before contact.

Runner was standing on 3rd. Everyone was confused, including myself. Coaches, players, & umps didn't know what to do. It happened before Ump could make a call on the pitch.

There was a meeting of coaches and umps. They decided on a "Do-over."

No recollection if we won or loss that game, I was 15. That was many moons ago. Apparently, no one knew the rules.
Interference on a steal of third is tricky. The catcher has a responsibility to throw behind or in front of the batter. The batter has the responsibility to not make any movement that hinders the catchers throw. Probably the most subjective call an umpire ever has to make. I’ve had to explain it way too many times for 12u ball parents. And I just score the games, I don’t ump.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CochiseCowbell

seshomoru

Active member
Apr 24, 2006
5,521
139
63
Technically, a balk can be called on any player not in the field of play at the pitch
Scorer nerd… no it can’t. Balks can only be attributed to pitchers. They can call obstruction (like a short stop clapping in the runner’s ear, screaming back, or making contact with a runner on a pick play). They can also go the other way and call misconduct if the offensive dugout starts screaming something like “step off” and causes the pitcher to balk.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CochiseCowbell

mstateglfr

Well-known member
Feb 24, 2008
15,073
4,911
113
Huh- yeah the catcher is out in front of the plate, but my brain keeps wanting it to apply to being in front of the plate in the direction the runner is coming from. So the catcher would have to be in front of the plate along the 3b line. That, to me, seems like being out in front of the plate in this instance.
...but I get why it covers being literally in front of the plate facing the pitcher- the batter has to be able to swing and whatnot.


Interesting.