Counter point: The batter has to make an effort to get out of the way on a play at the plate. He doesn't need to bail to do this, just a step back in the box would be fine. But if he sees the catcher moving forward he'll just swing, drill the catcher, get the interference, be awarded 1st, and since the runner was stealing they'd get to advance (normally runners need to be forced to advance on a catcher's interference). So, by letting a batter bail out like that and calling it interference + a balk (charged to pitcher obviously), it keeps the same penalty without the offense having to attempt murder on a catcher.To me there needs to be another part of that rule stating that the batter should be in a position to hit the ball for that rule to be applicable. The batter had moved 20 feet away from the plate before the pitch got there.
Technically, a balk can be called on any player not in the field of play at the pitch
Interference on a steal of third is tricky. The catcher has a responsibility to throw behind or in front of the batter. The batter has the responsibility to not make any movement that hinders the catchers throw. Probably the most subjective call an umpire ever has to make. I’ve had to explain it way too many times for 12u ball parents. And I just score the games, I don’t ump.@seshomoru Haven't seen you post in a while. This is a pleasant surprise.
The batter bailing out part also depends on which box the batter is in.
I caught some in my brief "playing career." I was born with knock knees so I preferred 2nd. By HS my speed disappeared so I rotated between the infield corners, RF, & behind the dish.
Had a guy steal 3rd on me. I popped up to throw but hesitated & I complained to the ump that the batter (RH) didn't move out of the way.
"He doesn't have to, son." Side note; hated anyone other than my father or grandfathers using that term.
"I guess the next one's going in his gotdam ear hole then!"
Batter didn't move because he was savvy, he was just unaware.
Ump didn't like my language, got two bad calls in a row.
Next pitch, don't recall the count, I rose up & half threw, half punched the batter in the ear hole with my hand & ball that left my hand before contact.
Runner was standing on 3rd. Everyone was confused, including myself. Coaches, players, & umps didn't know what to do. It happened before Ump could make a call on the pitch.
There was a meeting of coaches and umps. They decided on a "Do-over."
No recollection if we won or loss that game, I was 15. That was many moons ago. Apparently, no one knew the rules.
Scorer nerd… no it can’t. Balks can only be attributed to pitchers. They can call obstruction (like a short stop clapping in the runner’s ear, screaming back, or making contact with a runner on a pick play). They can also go the other way and call misconduct if the offensive dugout starts screaming something like “step off” and causes the pitcher to balk.Technically, a balk can be called on any player not in the field of play at the pitch