The Iowa's head, shoulders and ball are leading??? Where else is there to hit to make a play on a diving player???
Watch this video over and over again from 0:31 to 0:35 where it shows the side view.
It looks like Gerry is lowering his body and leading with his shoulder. He does not explode through the receiver.
The
(Dumb, IMO) announcers say, "Forcible contact above the shoulders...above the shoulders, correctly called."
(Gerry did not aim high)
1. He is
not trying to "attack with an apparent attempt that goes beyond making a legal tackle or playing the ball.
2. He is not initiating contact with the
top of his helmet.
3. He initiates contact
to the head area.
(Receiver dove towards him; he didn't aim high)
4. By rule below, the receiver is defenseless.
(Because most/all receivers when they extend/reach to catch the ball)
The receiver turned and dove right to where Gerry was coming from. What was he to do? Stand up and run his hips through the diving receiver?
With that being said, I still don't think it was correctly called. Read the 'Key Indicators' section below. He did not 'attack' the head or neck area with apparent intent.
http://www.afca.com/article/article.php?id=2342
RULES
Targeting and Initiating Contact With the Crown of the Helmet (Rule 9-1-3)
No player shall target and initiate contact against an opponent with the crown (top) of his helmet. When in question, it is a foul.
Targeting and Initiating Contact to Head or Neck Area of a Defenseless Player (Rule 9-1-4)
No player shall target and initiate contact to the head or neck area of a defenseless opponent with the helmet, forearm, fist, elbow or shoulder. When in question, it is a foul. (Rule 2-27-14)
Note: Beginning in 2013, ejection from the game is a part of the penalty for violation of both Rule 9-1-3 and Rule 9-1-4.
KEY ELEMENTS
Target—to take aim at an opponent for purposes of attacking with an apparent intent that goes beyond making a legal tackle or a legal block or playing the ball. NO
Crown of the Helmet—the top portion of the helmet. NO
Contact to the head or neck area—not only with the helmet, but also with the forearm, fist, elbow, or shoulder—these can all lead to a foul. YES (Receiver dove into him)
Defenseless player—a player not in position to defend himself. YES (See bold text below)
Examples (Rule 2-27-14):
- A player in the act of or just after throwing a pass.
- A receiver attempting to catch a pass, or one who has completed a catch and has not had time to protect himself or has not clearly become a ball carrier.
- A kicker in the act of or just after kicking a ball, or during the kick or the return.
- A kick returner attempting to catch or recover a kick.
- A player on the ground.
- A player obviously out of the play.
- A player who receives a blind-side block. (Are ALL blind-side blocks illegal?? Happens a lot on punt returns and isn't called)
- A ball carrier already in the grasp of an opponent and whose forward progress has been stopped.
- A quarterback any time after a change of possession.
KEY INDICATORS
Risk of a foul is high with one or more of these:
- Launch—a player leaving his feet to attack an opponent by an upward and forward thrust of the body to make contact in the head or neck area
- A crouch followed by an upward and forward thrust to attack with contact at the head or neck area—even though one or both feet are still on the ground
- Leading with helmet, forearm, fist, hand or elbow to attack with contact at the head or neck area
- Lowering the head before attacking by initiating contact with the crown of the helmet
These indicate less risk of a foul:
- Heads-up tackle in which the crown of the helmet does not strike above the shoulders
- Wrap-up tackle
- Head is to the side rather than being used to initiate contact
- Incidental helmet contact that is not part of targeting but is due to the players changing position during the course of play
HINTS FOR PLAYERS
- Don’t lead with your head
- Lower your target--don’t go for the head or neck area with anything
- Tackle: Heads-up and wrap-up