Refs

PSAL_Hoops

Heisman
Feb 18, 2008
11,744
10,869
78
I can never recall prior to Saturday an official picking up the flag on an unsportsmanlike conduct call. I'm sure it's happened but I can't think of one.
Never when it was blatantly obvious the contact happened after the play was over. It’s different when a flag is picked up because the refs determine it’s continuation contact. That was not the case here. It started after the play. Once the flag was down picking it up was inexplicable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: colbert17

rudad02

All-American
Nov 7, 2010
8,853
5,773
0
Never when it was blatantly obvious the contact happened after the play was over. It’s different when a flag is picked up because the refs determine it’s continuation contact. That was not the case here. It started after the play. Once the flag was down picking it up was inexplicable.
It's called hosing Rutgers.
 

PSAL_Hoops

Heisman
Feb 18, 2008
11,744
10,869
78
It's called hosing Rutgers.

My point is that unsportsmanlike flags are picked up sometimes but it’s almost always the case that it’s determined that the personal foul / late hit was unintentional. That could not be the case here.
 

yesrutgers01

Heisman
Nov 9, 2008
121,612
37,273
113
My point is that unsportsmanlike flags are picked up sometimes but it’s almost always the case that it’s determined that the personal foul / late hit was unintentional. That could not be the case here.
It was very clear tge defender gave a small shove and then threw an “incomplete” signal directly at the receiver. 100% intent of taunting. If the guy did what most defenders do and turn away and does the signal in excitement- then, it isn’t taunting. But this was at one specific player who the pass was intended for.
 

RuSnp

All-Conference
Jan 14, 2004
3,525
3,033
0
It was very clear tge defender gave a small shove and then threw an “incomplete” signal directly at the receiver. 100% intent of taunting. If the guy did what most defenders do and turn away and does the signal in excitement- then, it isn’t taunting. But this was at one specific player who the pass was intended for.
Yep. And whether the original call was right or wrong is less relevant anyway. The issue is the call was made and the flag was picked up. Makes no sense.
 

rob kight

All-American
Oct 22, 2020
4,784
5,981
113
Yep. And whether the original call was right or wrong is less relevant anyway. The issue is the call was made and the flag was picked up. Makes no sense.
It wasn’t the ref who threw the flag. He was overruled by another official. That doesn’t make sense because the ref who threw the pass, was closest to the play.
 
A

anon_xekqhstck0ygt

Guest
He is not out of bounds in that picture. It looks like no part of his body

TOUCHED THE GROUND OUT OF BOUNDS.
the spot of the ball is the point at which it goes out of bounds. Has nothing to do with where the player is touching.
 
May 11, 2010
72,487
56,950
0
Holy **** - am I at a QAnon meeting?
" Cost us this game." Are you a fvckin moron?
When do you start bitching about the refs in the Wagner game?
Worse, you’re a long time & devoted main stream media propaganda consumer.

The refs were awful but RU still loses.
 

Purple-Ed

All-Conference
Mar 12, 2006
3,057
1,463
0
Wow, you should really do something to treat your wet brain.

And - you should take the clothespins off your nut sack -
maybe, just maybe you'll stop being such a whiny little douchebag.
 
May 11, 2010
72,487
56,950
0
Hey, I guess you woke up from your drunken stupor?
The Office Boomer GIF by MOODMAN
 
A

anon_xekqhstck0ygt

Guest
Ahhh, yeah, you're wrong.
ARTICLE 4. OUT-OF-BOUNDS SPOT

Item 1. Loose Ball. If a Loose Ball touches anything on or outside a boundary line, the Out-of-Bounds Spot is the forward point of the ball when the ball crosses the sideline.

Item 2. Runner Out of Bounds. If the ball is in player possession when that player goes out of bounds, the out-of-bounds spot is the forward point of the ball when the ball crosses the side line, or, if the ball does not cross the sideline, the forward point of the ball at the instant the player is out of bounds.

Item 3. Runner Inbounds. If the ball, while in possession of a player who is inbounds, is declared out of bounds because of touching anything that is out of bounds, the out-of-bounds spot is the yard line through the forward point of the ball at the instant of such touching.
 

Purple-Ed

All-Conference
Mar 12, 2006
3,057
1,463
0
ARTICLE 4. OUT-OF-BOUNDS SPOT

Item 1. Loose Ball. If a Loose Ball touches anything on or outside a boundary line, the Out-of-Bounds Spot is the forward point of the ball when the ball crosses the sideline.

Item 2. Runner Out of Bounds. If the ball is in player possession when that player goes out of bounds, the out-of-bounds spot is the forward point of the ball when the ball crosses the side line, or, if the ball does not cross the sideline, the forward point of the ball at the instant the player is out of bounds.

Item 3. Runner Inbounds. If the ball, while in possession of a player who is inbounds, is declared out of bounds because of touching anything that is out of bounds, the out-of-bounds spot is the yard line through the forward point of the ball at the instant of such touching.
Let me ask you a question - if I have the ball inbounds and wave the ball out of bounds (why would I do that)
what is the call? Again, I'm standing completely in bounds and wave the ball out of bounds.
 
A

anon_xekqhstck0ygt

Guest
Let me ask you a question - if I have the ball inbounds and wave the ball out of bounds (why would I do that)
what is the call? Again, I'm standing completely in bounds and wave the ball out of bounds.
Nothing. They don't call you OOB for the ball crossing the line. #2 in my previous post is what happened on the play we are talking about
 

Purple-Ed

All-Conference
Mar 12, 2006
3,057
1,463
0
The play I'm talking about is the Michigan player going vertical for the first down.

He is not out of bounds.
 

Purple-Ed

All-Conference
Mar 12, 2006
3,057
1,463
0
Let me ask you this: A ball carrier is running for the end zone, launches himself towards the pylon, his body is
vertical to the ground out of bounds but he reaches out and touches the pylon with the ball.

TD or no TD?
 

goru7

All-American
Dec 12, 2005
6,111
7,180
113
Michigan also took its foot off the gas in the 4th quarter, going to our #3 running back all dive offense.

Yes, the refs may have screwed up some calls.

No, it wasn't enough to change the ultimate outcome of the game. There are probably some crazy Northwestern fans who think bad calls "changed the momentum of the game" and ultimately cost them a chance at a W over Rutgers.
Be real now. That game was a dog fight in the first half and but for Melton ‘s breakdown allowing your guy to catch the late Td that never should have happened , that is at worse a10-7 halftime score. But in the first quarter , that phantom holding call called back our 26 yarder that would have put the ball near midfield already up 7-0 and causing a 3 and out with a sack. Even after the hold Kyle ran for 6 and 10 yards so if we were at midfield we are likely driving to go up 14-0 or 10-0. Don’t you think that momentum was on Rutgers side. ?
Even after the defensive breakdowns on back to back plays gifting you a TD to make it 7-7 , we drove again from our 25 to Michigan’s 36 before another false start and just missing the 51 yard FG. Despite you having the ball for most of the second quarter it is 7-7 with 2 plus minutes left.

You’re out of bounds call , should have moved the ball to a foot of the first down and not leaving at a yard, since he went over the sideline when the ball was just short. However , you converted the fourth down but no harm done.
In the third quarter when Michigan went on that 8 minute drive , a fumble occurred that would have been a huge momentum swing but the play doesn’t even get reviewed. Pure ******** and incompetent BiG 10 refs and booth review people. That was pretty impactful.

Finally the taunting call, which I agree was bogus but for some reason in the rule book, drew 2 flags that somehow were picked up like it didn’t occur. We were on the 37 and that would have given us a first down on the 22, but instead 2 plays later the awful playcall Pick 6 happens. Another pretty impactful f up by the refs. Probably changes game from 17-14 to 24/7

In general , Big 10 refs in football and basketball suck and their calls , non calls and throwing flags and then wiping them out impacted this game and changed momentum or affected momentum
 

goru7

All-American
Dec 12, 2005
6,111
7,180
113
Let me ask you this: A ball carrier is running for the end zone, launches himself towards the pylon, his body is
vertical to the ground out of bounds but he reaches out and touches the pylon with the ball.

TD or no TD?
Different rule and not what happened here. At the goal line if you touch the pylon and do not touch your knee or foot out of bounds it is a TD. In the field of play , if you are going out of bounds and reach ball forward it is where the ball crosses the sideline. Your receiver went out of bounds sideways and he reached out and went over the sideline before the first down. Now the refs and the booth still f ‘d it up by saying “ play stands” when the review showed the ball went over the sideline about a foot before the first down not a yard away where it was incorrectly marked. It should have been corrected by the booth but BIG 10 refs in football and basketball suck.
 
A

anon_xekqhstck0ygt

Guest
Different rule and not what happened here. At the goal line if you touch the pylon and do not touch your knee or foot out of bounds it is a TD. In the field of play , if you are going out of bounds and reach ball forward it is where the ball crosses the sideline. Your receiver went out of bounds sideways and he reached out and went over the sideline before the first down. Now the refs and the booth still f ‘d it up by saying “ play stands” when the review showed the ball went over the sideline about a foot before the first down not a yard away where it was incorrectly marked. It should have been corrected by the booth but BIG 10 refs in football and basketball suck.
he's wrong AND has no idea what the rules are. I posted the rule and he still wants to argue. and now giving hi second hypothetical situation that has nothing to do with the play in question. troll
 
  • Like
Reactions: Proud NJ Sports Fan

goru7

All-American
Dec 12, 2005
6,111
7,180
113
he's wrong AND has no idea what the rules are. I posted the rule and he still wants to argue. and now giving hi second hypothetical situation that has nothing to do with the play in question. troll
Do not think he is a troll just needed the rule explained which you cited tremendously and I tried to put it in plain language that even he would understand
 

Purple-Ed

All-Conference
Mar 12, 2006
3,057
1,463
0
I'm sorry if I hurt your feelings
Do not think he is a troll just needed the rule explained which you cited tremendously and I tried to put it in plain language that even he would understand
Lol. You're a clever little twit.
 
A

anon_xekqhstck0ygt

Guest
Do not think he is a troll just needed the rule explained which you cited tremendously and I tried to put it in plain language that even he would understand
I was gonna say I'll give him the benefit of the doubt but his latest post in response to you seals the deal for me. 100% troll. He's 100% wrong and won't admit it.
 

yesrutgers01

Heisman
Nov 9, 2008
121,612
37,273
113
he's wrong AND has no idea what the rules are. I posted the rule and he still wants to argue. and now giving hi second hypothetical situation that has nothing to do with the play in question. troll

Do not think he is a troll just needed the rule explained which you cited tremendously and I tried to put it in plain language that even he would understand
So glad you guys posted as I was about to. Quick google search and section 4 comes up. And two things about that- the rules you posted covered each of PE's followup questions. The pylon question was just stupid to even ask as any football fan sees this mult times each week across football.
PE's should just man up and say- "thanks guys, I was wrong"

now- with that play, the only question is "Where was the ball when it crossed OOB" But since the ruling on the field was that the spot was short- there was no evidence to prove otherwise. Just the same if it had been ruled a first down, they would not have definitive proof that it shouldn't be and that call would not have been overturned either.

But, with the very first replay- it was pretty clear it had crossed the OOB just short. Good call
 
  • Like
Reactions: goru7

yesrutgers01

Heisman
Nov 9, 2008
121,612
37,273
113
What kind of response is that ? This was a discussion and it was explained to you and this is your response. LOL.
The rules were posted, showing that someone did in fact go and read the rules and posted them. Which made PE look pretty dumb. As he either never read the rules himself when he posted that, or they were too complicated for him to follow. Thus, your very fair comment.
And the follow up questions from PE on the very clearly posted rules, shows that dumbing them down was the right call.
 

goru7

All-American
Dec 12, 2005
6,111
7,180
113
I apologize for any and all of my snarky comments.
No problem. Not a black and white issue with where the ball crossed the sideline but those were the rules. I think the arguments here were that call supposedly against Michigan , and again it probably was just a foot short and the refs or booth should have corrected it , didn’t matter as they got the first down on the 4th down.

Whereas the refs calls against us , the holding call , the fumble that was not reviewed and the taunting call which caused 2 flags to be thrown and then picked up , all impacted momentum and the score. Not to mention Kyk’s argument with the Michigan players at the line of scrimmage in another thread.
 
  • Like
Reactions: yesrutgers01

yesrutgers01

Heisman
Nov 9, 2008
121,612
37,273
113
No problem. Not a black and white issue with where the ball crossed the sideline but those were the rules. I think the arguments here were that call supposedly against Michigan , and again it probably was just a foot short and the refs or booth should have corrected it , didn’t matter as they got the first down on the 4th down.

Whereas the refs calls against us , the holding call , the fumble that was not reviewed and the taunting call which caused 2 flags to be thrown and then picked up , all impacted momentum and the score. Not to mention Kyk’s argument with the Michigan players at the line of scrimmage in another thread.
You also can't miss the forward momentum on KM's run where the pile was still moving and there were no whistles.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kbee3 and goru7

PSAL_Hoops

Heisman
Feb 18, 2008
11,744
10,869
78
I just hope we get a fair whistle for the Wisconsin game. The last thing the BIG wants is anyone other than Wisconsin or Iowa winning the west and playing in the championship game. unfortunately we play both of them, so….
 

rutger80

All-Conference
Oct 14, 2013
2,478
1,762
0
Michigan player is already out of bounds there.. do not believe the shadow.. look at ref and bench shadows on right side. The sun is putting the Michigan player's shadow in-bounds.. but he is already out of bounds.
There's no way you can tell from this picture that the player is out of bounds or not. He's in the air.
Now if there's a shot that shows a body part touched the sideline, that's different.
 

GoodOl'Rutgers

Heisman
Sep 11, 2006
123,974
19,585
0
There's no way you can tell from this picture that the player is out of bounds or not. He's in the air.
Now if there's a shot that shows a body part touched the sideline, that's different.
Not if you do not know how shadows work, you can't. I'm guessing you think the defender is nearly 3 yards tall...

And this was from video where you can see him being to tuck the ball in and land on teh orange marker with the ball. And then you can tell the distance he travelled to that orange marker.. most of it out of bounds. He starts his leap on a hash mark.. why? because he couldn't make it on his feet because he was being pushed out of bounds.. he stars on a hash mark and ends way out of bounds on the orange marker... did he make a right-hand turn in mid-air only AFTER he exended the ball to the marker? No.. he was already out of bounds when the ball went its full extension.

Lets get detailed.

The orange marker BEGINs after the 4-foot wide white border around the field at teh 22 yard line. The ball,, then on player's chest.. lands into the middle of it. So, lets be generous and call that 5 feet from being in-bounds.

oH.. GET THIS.. the receiver did a bump and run pushing off the defender at the 25 before turning out and looking for the ball... he plants his foot at teh 24 very near teh 2-foot wide hash mark while getting pushed toward sideline and he begins his dive. And the ball land 5-feet out of bounds.. Let us call it at the 21.5 and pretend he kept the ball way out there the whole time.

Sorry.. the ball cannot be in-bounds while traveling from 2-feet in-bounds to 5-feet out of bounds while diving.

I knew this because of the directions of the shadows... plus the call on the field... plus the review that let it stand. But go ahead.. believe that this was the ONE PLAY that shows Michigan wasn't getting any biased calls and non-calls the entire game. Disbelieve the SUN while you are at it. The sun is just just casting shadows to mess with me.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Kbee3