Texas player Cunningham upset over officials call. Claims it was over the back.

WVUALLEN

Active member
Aug 4, 2009
64,333
256
83
Inutially they did call over the back but it was reversed..

You decide.



I think it was correct call.
 

WESTBGVA

Member
Jan 25, 2002
13,041
35
28
there's no such thing as over the back foul..it's pushing, holding, illegal contact, illegal screen etc..if a player jumps up he/she is to have a landing spot..that is a rule..Miami player could have been called for illegal contact
 
Last edited:

WVUALLEN

Active member
Aug 4, 2009
64,333
256
83
there's no such thing as over the back foul..it's pushing, holding, illegal contact, illegal screen etc..if a player jumps up he/she is to have a landing spot..that is a rule..Miami player could have been called for illegal contact
To be clear, rebounding a ball by reaching over an opponent’s back is not a foul.

In truth, the foul only occurs when illegal contact occurs. Specifically, when a player uses illegal contact to gain an unfair advantage over their opponent when going for a rebound.

So, the ‘over-the-back foul’ doesn’t truly exist as is named. Rather, the over the back foul refers to the overall process of using illegal contact over the back of the person with inside position to get a rebound.