Skip to main content

Kayin Lee ejected for targeting despite officials reviewing catch call

Chandler Vesselsby: Chandler Vessels12 hours agoChandlerVessels
kayin-lee-auburn-football - 1
Kayin Lee (Photo: Auburn Athletics)

Auburn cornerback Kayin Lee has been ejected for targeting in Saturday’s contest against Georgia. The play occurred late in the second quarter as Lee delivered a big hit on Bulldogs quarterback Gunner Stockton.

Officials reviewing whether Lawson Luckie stayed inbounds to make a catch prompted them to notice the hit from Lee, who caused Stockton’s head to jerk back. You can view it for yourself below.

ESPN rules analyst Matt Austin agreed with the call, saying it was targeting in his opinion. He cited the way that Stockton’s head moved as proof that he was hit in the head/neck area.

“I think it is targeting,” he said. “I think he’s definitely attacking with force and the way the quarterback’s head snaps around, he obviously got him in the head or neck area. So I would think this is targeting.”

Commentator Greg McElroy also weighed in with his opinion on the call. He also was of the opinion that it was targeting and broke down what he saw on the tackle.

“Look at the upward thrust too that he kind of launched with,” he said. “You have to have that indicator now to check all the boxes of targeting against a defenseless player. So he did kind of launch, it’s just where did he hit him.”

Because Lee was ejected in the first half, he will not have to miss any of Auburn’s next game. However, the Tigers will have to find a way to make do without him for the rest of this game. Entering this contest, Lee had 10 tackles on the season.

The targeting call wasn’t the only controversial review from the refs to close out the first half. With 1:32 remaining in the second quarter, Auburn QB Jackson Arnold appeared to cross the plane of the end zone for a touchdown. The ball was knocked out, but even the ESPN announcing crew was in agreement that Arnold was in the end zone before the ball came out.

However, that is not what officials ruled, as they called it a fumble and recovery for the Bulldogs after a review. Georgia went on to kick a field goal on the next drive, making it 10-3 instead of potentially 17-0. Tigers coach Hugh Freeze voiced his thoughts heading into the locker room.

“I have no clue,” he said, trying to maintain his composure. “I think it’s … our kids have played really hard, really well. We should be up more. We dominated the first half.”