Bijan Robinson named a semifinalist for the Doak Walker Award

On3 imageby:Joe Cook11/22/22


Texas running back Bijan Robinson was named a semifinalist for the Doak Walker Award on Tuesday. The Doak Walker Award is presented annually to the nation’s top running back.

[Get a FREE 7-day trial of Inside Texas Plus!]

Robinson, a junior from Tucson (Ariz.) Salpointe Catholic, was named a semifinalist for the award in 2021. He hopes to become the fourth Longhorn to win the award along with Ricky Williams (1997, 1998), Cedric Benson (2004), and D’Onta Foreman (2016).

This season, Robinson has rushed 229 times for 1401 yards, good for 6.1 yards per carry. He’s also added 16 rushing touchdowns, including a career-high four scores in his most recent outing versus Kansas. He has 19 receptions for 314 yards and two touchdowns. He has 1715 total yards and 18 total touchdowns this season.

Robinson rushed for 1127 yards in 10 games last season before missing the final two contests due to injury. He accumulated 1422 total yards and 15 total touchdowns last season, his second on the Forty Acres.

During his freshman season in 2020, Robinson had 86 carries for 703 yards and four touchdowns. His 8.2 yards per carry broke a six-decade old school record set by Jimmy Saxton.

Robinson has recently moved up Texas’ school record books, passing greats like Vince Young, Roosevelt Leaks, and A.J. “Jam” Jones on the school’s rushing yardage leaderboard. With 3231 career yards, Robinson is currently tied for fifth with Chris Gilbert. He trails Jamaal Charles for fourth place by 97 yards.

Recently, Robinson was ranked as the No. 1 running back and the No. 7 overall 2023 draft prospect by ESPN’s Mel Kiper. Robinson has made no public declaration about whether he intends to declare for the draft or return for his senior season.

A member of Texas’ 2020 class, Robinson was rated as the No. 16 overall prospect in the On3 Consensus.

The 2022 Doak Walker Award winner will be unveiled live on The Home Depot College Football Awards, televised by ESPN on Dec. 8. The annual banquet, where the winner and the recipient of the 2022 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award will be honored, will take place in February on the SMU campus.

2022 Doak Walker Award Semifinalists

Israel Abanikanda, Pitt
Chase Brown, Illinois
Zach Charbonnet, UCLA
Blake Corum, Michigan
Mohamed Ibrahim, Minnesota
Quinshon Judkins, Ole Miss
DeWayne McBride, UAB
Kendre Miller, TCU
Bijan Robinson, Texas
​​​​​​​Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State

You may also like