Eleven former University of Texas student-athletes get the call for prestigious Hall of Honor

On3 imageby:Steve Habel08/16/23


The Class of 2023 of 11 former University of Texas student athletes – six men and five women – will be inducted into the Texas Athletics Hall of Honor in a special ceremony on Friday, Sept. 15 in Austin, the university announced on Tuesday.

The class includes athletes from various sports, with football, basketball, swimming & diving, baseball, golf, soccer, track & field, and rowing, respectively, represented. This is the 69th class of inductees for the Men’s Hall of Honor and the 24th class for the Women’s.

[Join Inside Texas today and get the best Texas Longhorns insider team info and recruiting intel!]

Five of the male honorees – Quan Cosby and Jonathan Scott in football, David Denny in baseball, Kris Kirchner in swimming, and Jordan Spieth in golf, and two of the women inductees – Beth Barr in Swimming and Susan Shurr in track and field – were members of national championship teams while on the 40 Acres.

Founded in 1957, the Longhorn Hall of Honor is one of the most cherished athletics traditions at The University of Texas. Inductees are a distinguished circle of individuals who have made a distinct and lasting contribution to The University of Texas.

The Men’s Hall of Honor class includes: 

Quan Cosby (Football, 2005-08)

Cosby was a two-time All-Big 12 selection and one of the top wideouts and kick returners in school history who was a key member of the 2005 National Championship team.

David Denny (Baseball, 1982-85)

Denny is Texas’ career record holder in hits, doubles and runs batted in and led the Longhorns to four-straight College World Series appearances and the 1983 National Championship under coach Cliff Gustafson.

Kris Kirchner (Swimming & Diving, 1980-81)

Kirchner was the 1981 NCAA individual champion in the 50-yard freestyle and three-time relay national champion who paced Texas to its first national championship in program history in 1981.

James H. Means Jr. (Track & Field, 1963-64 and 1966-68)

Means was the first African American student-athlete to participate in athletics as well as letter and earn a scholarship at The University of Texas and first-ever African American competitor in any sport in Southwest Conference history. He helped the Longhorns to SWC titles in 1966 and 1968.

Jonathan Scott (Football, 2002-05)

Scott was a two-time All-American and four-time All-Big 12 selection at offensive tackle who helped pave the way for Texas’ perfect 13-0 national championship team in 2005. 

Jordan Spieth (Golf, 2011-12)

Spieth was a consensus first-team All-American and finalist for the Ben Hogan Award as the National Player of the Year during his only full season of collegiate golf and helped the Longhorns to the 2012 NCAA Championship.

The Women’s Hall of Honor class includes:

Beth Barr (Swimming & Diving, 1990-93)

Barr was an Olympic silver medalist, the 1991 NCAA individual champion in the 200-yard backstroke and a four-time All-American who paced the Longhorns to the 1991 National Championship.

Jamie Carey (Basketball, 2002-05)

Carey was a two-time All-Big 12 selection and Texas’ career record holder for highest 3-point field goal percentage (.418) and led the Longhorns to the 2003 Final Four. She later returned to the 40 Acres as an assistant and associate head coach from 2016-20. 

Gia Doonan (Rowing, 2013-17)

Doonan was a three-time first-team All-American and two-time Big 12 Conference Rower of the Year who guided Texas to a trio of top-eight NCAA Championship finishes.

Dr. Kelly McDonald Freeman (Soccer, 2001-04)

McDonald Freeman was a 2003 All-American and four-time NSCAA All-Region selection who led the Longhorns to their first NCAA Tournament appearance in program history in 2001. She is still Texas’ all-time leader in career goals (46) and ranks second in career points (110).

Susan Shurr (Track & Field, 1982-85)

Shurr was an 11-time All-American and key member of the program’s first national title at the 1982 AIAW Outdoor National Championship.

The newest members of the Hall will receive a special on-field salute during the Longhorns’ football game against Wyoming on Saturday, Sept. 16 in Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium.

[Subscribe to the ON TEXAS FOOTBALL YouTube channel for daily videos from Inside Texas!]

For more details on each of the honoree, go to https://texassports.com/news/2023/8/15/t-association-texas-athletics-announces-2023-hall-of-honor-class.aspx

You may also like